Rum and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Wonderful dinner party dessert! I followed the recipe exactly. I topped the cake with sliced fresh strawberries and slivered almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
That photograph is gorgeous. How did you make the cheesecake with rings?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is great cake. I made it just as the recipie said and I didn't get any fancy swirling patterns, but I wasn't hoping for any anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is a flawless recipe. I have been baking for years, but this was my first vegan dessert. The batter is creamy and easy to work with, and the proportions of ingredients are right on. For those of you who are interested in creating the rings, try this: pour 1/3 of the white batter into the pan and gently tilt pan to allow batter to cover the bottom. Pour 1/3 chocolate batter just into the CENTER of the white batter and allow that circle of batter to spread and widen a bit. Then pour another 1/3 white batter into the CENTER of the chocolate circle, and allow that to spread a bit. Repeat with remaining batter. I hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
The best non - diary cheesecake I hace ever had!!!!!!!!! Many thanks for sharing it,Winnie! Best regards, Kata
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
As a cheese fiend and dairy lover, I don't normally make vegan desserts unless it's a special request. This one is so beautiful, it's hard for anyone to resist. Nice job. (I did use butter instead of margarine in the crust, and added cocoa powder, a pinch of salt and about a tablespoon of confectioners'sugar when grinding the almonds.) I used almond milk instead of soy and almond oil instead of sunflower seed. Served it with warm chocolate ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
The chocolate part of the cheesecake is very good, but the vanilla part has a noticeable tofu taste. Unless you really like the taste of tofu for dessert, I would recommend increasing the cocoa and making the cheesecake all chocolate. Also, I did not know what demanara sugar was, simply used granulated sugar (1 cup instead of 1 1/2). I think a regular graham cracker crust would be just as good as the almond/whole wheat one. Very good recipe for not using dairy products, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This is good, but you could definitely taste the tofu in the recipe as posted. I tried it again, substituting creme de menthe for the rum, and it was much yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I used extra firm tofu which made for a really thick pie, but I'll use firm next time for more creaminess. I used coconut oil, soy milk, and broke up the sugar between sugar, agave, and stevia. I used rum extract instead of rum. I used 1/2 cup of ww flour for the crust instead of a full cup. That was much more pleasant. I will add some salt to the filling next time as it tasted flat. All in all, with a little tweaking, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stef~W~an~F
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This turned out better than I expected! I did not find it too tofu-tasting at all and it was nice and dense. I didnt really taste the rum either...I topped it with bananas and that added nice flavor. I think if I make it again I might mash some banana and put it in the batter itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef~W~an~F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States