Rum and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
The best non - diary cheesecake I hace ever had!!!!!!!!! Many thanks for sharing it,Winnie! Best regards, Kata
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
As a cheese fiend and dairy lover, I don't normally make vegan desserts unless it's a special request. This one is so beautiful, it's hard for anyone to resist. Nice job. (I did use butter instead of margarine in the crust, and added cocoa powder, a pinch of salt and about a tablespoon of confectioners'sugar when grinding the almonds.) I used almond milk instead of soy and almond oil instead of sunflower seed. Served it with warm chocolate ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
That photograph is gorgeous. How did you make the cheesecake with rings?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
While I'm not a fan of "not cheesecake" this worked for my guests. As for the design...split your batter before adding your flavor so you end up with vanilla and ... Pour one cup into the pan, follow it with opposite color and repeat till you are out of batter. I crumbed the sides-it really polishes it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is great cake. I made it just as the recipie said and I didn't get any fancy swirling patterns, but I wasn't hoping for any anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This is good, but you could definitely taste the tofu in the recipe as posted. I tried it again, substituting creme de menthe for the rum, and it was much yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
The chocolate part of the cheesecake is very good, but the vanilla part has a noticeable tofu taste. Unless you really like the taste of tofu for dessert, I would recommend increasing the cocoa and making the cheesecake all chocolate. Also, I did not know what demanara sugar was, simply used granulated sugar (1 cup instead of 1 1/2). I think a regular graham cracker crust would be just as good as the almond/whole wheat one. Very good recipe for not using dairy products, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is a flawless recipe. I have been baking for years, but this was my first vegan dessert. The batter is creamy and easy to work with, and the proportions of ingredients are right on. For those of you who are interested in creating the rings, try this: pour 1/3 of the white batter into the pan and gently tilt pan to allow batter to cover the bottom. Pour 1/3 chocolate batter just into the CENTER of the white batter and allow that circle of batter to spread and widen a bit. Then pour another 1/3 white batter into the CENTER of the chocolate circle, and allow that to spread a bit. Repeat with remaining batter. I hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This cheese cake definitely had a tofu aftertaste. The first bite did put me off, but after a couple more nibbles, I started to get used to it. It was extremely dense and moist. I opted to use a cookie dough crust instead of the suggested crust. I started off mixing all of the ingredients in my Kitchen Aid but the mixture was too lumpy so I used my hand blended and pureed the whole mixture. I used regular brown sugar. I used the reviewer "foodaholic"'s suggestion of how to make the chocolate and vanilla swirls - I kept half the batter white and added chocolate to the other half. I poured a cup of white batter into the center of the pan and then a cup of chocolate batter right in the center of the white batter. I repeated this, making sure not to wiggle or jiggle the pan or the colors would blend. I baked the cheesecake for the suggested time. I was nervous when I took it out after 75 minutes - as the cake was very jiggly in the middle, but I refrigerated it over night and the cake set beautifully! I pressed mini chocolate chips into the sides of the cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stef~W~an~F
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This turned out better than I expected! I did not find it too tofu-tasting at all and it was nice and dense. I didnt really taste the rum either...I topped it with bananas and that added nice flavor. I think if I make it again I might mash some banana and put it in the batter itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef~W~an~F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States