Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I can't say enough about this recipe. It is my new standard holiday gift. My son and I found that we could easily get 64 cookies out of this recipe and still have decent sized cookies. We made three varieties: raspberry all fruit jam and chocolate chips, Apricot all fruit jam and almond paste, and Trader Joe's Apricot Orange preserves with chocolate chips. I like them all equally, however my co-workers enjoyed the raspberry chocolate best. Since making our first batch around Thanksgiving, we've made no less than 300 cookies! I found that the easiest and fastest way to make them is to roll the dough out into a rectangle shape and brush with your jam or sprinkle with your sugar mixture, add a line of the chunkier ingredients (chips, nuts, chopped fruit) as you roll. That is, roll the rectangle as you would a jelly roll and after each turn flatten it a bit while laying down a line of the chunky ingredients along the edge of the roll. When finished, cut with a pizza cutter for the perfect shape and size. This shaved at least 15 minutes off the prep. I made the first batch according to the recipe and then replaced all of the cream cheese with Neufchatel and the sour cream with 0% fat Greek yogurt. This did not change the texture or taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fig1007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I faintly remembered how good rugelach cookies were, but actually didn't know the name of the cookie type until I did some research and stumbled upon this recipe. As soon as I saw the picture I knew it was the cookie I was looking for. I've made these multiple times, and they always come out amazing! I use tiny choc chips I found and bought especially for this cookie. They are hands down my favorite. I can eat the whole batch, which says a lot since I rarely eat the stuff I bake, I just like to bake it! Definitely time consuming, and that does affect how often I make them, but when I do I enjoy every single bite. They keep very well too. Thank you so much for posting this! Usually it takes me a while to find a recipe I like, I always try different ones and tweak things a bit, but I settled with this exact recipe right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Great recipe, these were a big hit with the family at Christmas, already got special requests for more. I was a bit worried they weren't going to come out since the directions said to use a food processor until crumbly, I only have a hand blender and it was very doughy and not crumbly at all. I rolled out the discs and spread with apricot jam and sprinkled with brown sugar before covering with the filling. Then i cut the discs in half and then cut rectangular strips and rolled them. I had a difficult time with keeping the filling inside (think i had too much filling in the first couple batches). about half of them came unrolled in the oven, those i kept for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The good news: These were fantastic. I didnt do the fruit filling instead I spread it with nutella and sprinkled with walnuts. The bad news: This dough is REALLY difficult to work with. I had it in the fridge overnight, and honestly, its alot of work, I dont know if I would make it again based on the big effort alone BUT they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
first time they did not come out great...second time I was pressed for time so I put the cubed butter & cream cheese in the freezer it worked so well and I was able roll in out right away. I also rolled it out like a log (thick)added the filling and cut into 1.5 inch pcs. you yield less but its worth it! so much easier and still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I'd never heard of Rugelach in my life and I stumbled onto this recipe when looking for something to make to get rid of some leftover sour cream. I'm so glad I found this recipe and it introduced me to such a yummy and addictive cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yoli
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very easy and good recipe,just made few changes,I did roll the dough in a sugar instead of flour ,that came amazing I used chocolate for the filling that I mixed and it is non sweet Cocoa with cream, powdered sugar and vanilla and that was a hit . And brush it with egg wash before put it in the oven basically it tasted the same as my mom use to buy it from the market when I was little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
After I made 2 of the disks, I didn't like the way the sprinkled cinnamon and sugar looked on the finished product, so I finished the last 2 disks in a way that I read in a different recipe. Combine 1/2 C sugar and 2 T cinnamon and spread over rolling area. I used a pastry cloth and spread it on that. Then roll the disk out on the cinnamon/sugar mixture and finish as the recipe says. It looks very nice when baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These definitely have 5-star taste, but they are a pain to make. I used dried cranberries and pecans, no jam. I might try some chocolate chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I have tried many Rugelach recipes, this was the easiest and came out the best. One note, the rugelach is always rolled out in a sugar cinnamon mix never flour if rolled and turned once it is covered in sugar, it is no problem to roll out at all. Mine was never sticky I chilled for 24 hours. NEVER use table james or jellies for fillings, use Solo fillings which are specifically made to handle the hot temps of the ovens and they dont liquify as much. I used apricot and choc chips, I put nothing on top of them and they came out WONDERFUL. Company said they were stupendous, and when my company left and I finally went to have some for myself they were already gone. They lasted sbout 2 hours. Too much work to give out on platters but a nice treat for company or for family. Will truly make this again. Bakeries charges up to 7 or 8.00 a pound for these gourmet treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States