Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Nice addition to our Xmas selections. I made them without jam and with Orange marmalade. Both were equally tasty. I also made them as crescents and rolled up and cut out sprials. Looks great on the plate. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious. I made these exactly as directed (and tried a batch with apricot jam also great and easier to stick the filling to the dough) and they were fantastic. Mine left a fairly large grease slick on the bottom of the cookie sheet, so I had to remove them right away to cool on wire racks. I think I didn't get the butter and cream cheese cut small enough before adding the other ingredients. Didn't effect the flavor or presentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are great. I didn't have any raisins but I am not a fan of them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Morin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Everybody loves it. You can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are super good! I just got done baking a double batch and swear I ate the whole first batch. A few tips I'd like to contribute after reading other reviewers problems: 1. Definitely chill this dough and roll on a lightly floured surface. I would imagine a marble cutting block would be ideal. I used a Wilton Roll & Cut mat for fondant; worked perfectly. 2. Roll your circle to about 8". Then put your nut/ raisin / cinnamon / sugar combo on the dough. Cover with a papertowel and finish rolling to 9 inches. This worked perfectly for me. I didn't get very much mixture spilling out after rolling it into the dough. Careful though... you don't want to roll so hard that the mixture pokes through the front of the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I am searching for a good rugelach recipe. This was the second I tried; the first was better. My food processor could not handle this much dough so I changed to my KitchenAid using the dough hook. After more than 2 hours of chilling, the dough was too soft to handle easily. Even after pressing the filling into the dough with a rolling pin, a lot of the filling fell out. The dough is a nice consistency but, if you don't roll it in sugar, it's not sweet enough (I omitted the raisains). If you cut in rolled rectangles instead of crescents, the pieces may fall over during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very good! I used apricot jam spread on the dough and sprinkled them with the cinnamon sugar mix before baking. Next time I would increase the amount of sugar and nuts spread on the dough. As good as I remembered from a bakery in N.Y.C. Need to make a second batch they went so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I first made these for a Sunday school celebration. We were discussing Hanukkah. Everyone loved them and I saved the recipe. I have made them for Christmas and other occassions since then. They are always devoured. I use the variation of apricot jam. They are just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graceismine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are delicious! I didn't have a food processor big enough to make the dough, so I did it my stand mixer and it worked out great. Make sure you keep the point on the underside of the cookie, to prevent it from unrolling during baking. Definitely worth the time it takes to bake these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eag161

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Very very good I really enjoyed preparing these cookies, and yummy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States