Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These were excellent. The dough is very sticky at first. Put in the fridge as directed. I broke into 4 parts and refrigerated. After rolling it out with some flour, I sprinkled sugar on one side, flipped it and added filling. Mini chips, apricot preserves and raspberry jam for each kind. Might try Nutella with chip next time. It wasn't great warm out of the oven but were great after they cooled. I got lots of compliments at the party in brought them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
My daughter is in the musical, "Fiddler on the Roof" so I decided to make rugelach for the cast. This recipe was perfect! Easy to work with and delicious. I did add about 1/3 cup of granulated sugar to the dough ingredients because I thought it needed just a touch of sweetness. I filled one batch with mini-chocolate chips and powdered sugar and another batch with cinnamon-sugar, to make it more "kid friendly." It's really important that this dough is cold. You need to work fast from the time you take one section out of the refrigerator and roll and fill it. The dough got easier to work with the longer it was in the refrigerator. Really good recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have been making this for years and can't believe I've never reviewed it. I will admit that the first few times I made it, it was very messy and difficult to do. Once you figure out what works best for you, it's a breeze. If you follow the instructions exactly as stated and use cold ingredients, the dough comes together in about 5 minutes and is very easy to handle. I use a dusting of flour to roll it out into a rectangle. I only make about half the filling. I make some with different flavored jellies and also use mini chips. I make different ones for each disc. One of my favorites...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I decided to make 4 different fillings with the base filling (sans raisins). I had apricot preservers and brown sugar, chocolate chips, dates and then plain. All of them scrumptous. The recipes was so easy! Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Although my mother always made rugelach with butter and sour cream, obviously I can't do that if I want the cookies to be available to my kosher grandkids even after a meat meal. So I replaced the butter with margarine, the sour cream with Tofutti brand's Sour Supreme and the cream cheese with their Better than Cream Cheese. And although the rugelach didn't taste exactly like my mother's, they were spectacular and gone in little more than a minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Not many of us have free refrigerator space for all that chilling. I know I don't. Sounds good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apronhanger
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe. I did not like the way the pie shaped slices rolled so I shaped my dough as a rectangle and cut strips. I like the way that rolled and baked much better. I posted a photo so you can judge for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Was surprised how easy the dough was to make and how far the dough went. I got about 70 rugelach out the dough. They were a huge hit and I'll be making them again and experimenting with fillings. I made half with cinnamon/raisin/hazelnut and other half with raspberry jam (heated in micro with 1 tbsp sugar), dark choc and hazel nuts. And I definitely recommend doing an egg wash on the rolled rugelach otherwise they look dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Oops! This recipe calls for 2 cups flour but it should be 4 cups flour. Otherwise the end product is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States