Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
really good dough, because I thought I screwed it up & it still came out super-duper flaky. I did use a food processor for the dough & let it rest for 2 hours. I filled the rugalach with a processed paste of: roasted almond, cocoa, prunes, raisins, orange zest & a little agave nectar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjoy222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! I loved this recipe and could not believe how flakey the dough came out. I made it with homemade candied chestnuts (I had to do something with them) and cranberries and they are now one of my new favs. I reviewed them on my blog too so other people will try them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Just like my mother in law used to make. We polished off the first patch in 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This takes time, which I love because it is so special. I make these only once a year and everyone asks for them all year long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Super easy recipe, I brushed the dough with Apricot jam before sprinkling on nuts and raisins. I couldn't keep the tray filled fast enough. I baked half for Christmas eve and put the other half in the freezer for New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KEDY
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Oh my goodness! I'd never tasted rugelach before I made it, and it's absolutely wonderful! This recipe made flaky, tender, just-the-right-sweetness pastry I've had. I shaped mine differently. I divided dough in half before refrigerating. Rolled out rectangles that were about 18 x 10 (or so), spread half the filling on each side (minus raisins), cut the rectangle lengthwise, and then rolled into two logs. With a knife, I cut the log into 10-12 pieces and then baked as directed. Everyone loved them at the Russian tea I took them to. I will be adding this recipe to my permanent collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe took a lot of work and ingredients and time (and a big mess to clean up). But it was delicious. I put white chocolate chips and walnuts instead of the healthy stuff and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
too much trouble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was way to much work for me. I think this is way to unhealthy to make again, to much fat! Taste is good, but work required it's just not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Jackie, thank you so very much for sharing this magnificent recipe! Everyone says it is the best rugelach they have ever tasted. I believe the apricot filling is the magic ingredient. I am now asked to make these for every family event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States