Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Although I'm not Jewish, a few of my good friends are, so I thought I'd surprise them with a Chanukkah sweet. This recipe was a fantastic success; my friends (and my family) loved it. Two of the friends I made it for are allergic to nuts, so for theirs I filled the rugelach with chopped white chocolate and dried cranberries (craisins). Delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoamonkey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
these were amazing. i was worried as i don't have a food processor or electric mixer so had to "knead" the dough by hand but it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was my first time baking Rugelach, and this recipe surpased my expectations. I opted for mini chocolate chips in place of raisins. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Awesome recipe. Brought them to work and they disappeared in seconds. Thank you for sharing. Easy to follow recipe, easy to make, yummy to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I just made these and the dough is a dream to work with. It rolled out so nicely and to make sure that I was making a 12 inch circle; I rolled it out and used a pot cover that was 12 inches and went around that with a pizza cutter. I did mine exactly as the recipe stated and using the food processor was a snap. Next time I'm going to experiment a bit with the mixture I think for our tastes a tad sweeter would be nice and I want to try some raspberry jam in them as well with some white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I found this recipe years ago and make it almost every Christmas. A family favorite. I also add mini-morsal semi-sweet chocolate chips to the cinnammon sugar mixture which really adds a new dimension to these great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I don't have a food processor so it was a time consuming process. This recipe was well worth the time! My first batch was a nut-free and I used raisins and organic apricot preserves. The second I followed the exact recipe. They were gone the next day. My family loved them. I have borrowed my grandmothers food processor and will make some more soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjenwest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I love the taste but the dough is a bit hard to handle. It always melt on my hands. Otherwise, I will make it again and again for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
These were a huge hit at the office. For anyone who is having issues with filling falling out, I would suggest pushing the chunky parts of the filling to the outside of the circle (leaving the cinnamon/sugar mixure in the middle) before rolling. This way you can squeeze the raisins/nuts in as you roll. Also if you don't want to make the crescent shape, you can use this recipe to make roulades (exactly the same cookie, just a cinnamon roll-like shape). To do this, roll the dough out either into a rectangle or circle. Then add the toppings. Roll the dough with the filling. Then cut into 1 inch pieces. (Note: If you rolled into a circle, you'll need to cut a 1/4 inch piece off of each end before cutting the 1 inch cookie pieces.) Place seam side down for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe is great! I had never made rugelach before. Just a little labor intensive but worth it! I put the sugar, cinnamon, walnuts and raisins in my food processor and processed them all together until fine. Save a lot of time chopping. The chilling of the dough and the filled rugelach is very important. I also mixed cinnamon and sugar and dipped the cookies before they were baked. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States