Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I have been making this for years and can't believe I've never reviewed it. I will admit that the first few times I made it, it was very messy and difficult to do. Once you figure out what works best for you, it's a breeze. If you follow the instructions exactly as stated and use cold ingredients, the dough comes together in about 5 minutes and is very easy to handle. I use a dusting of flour to roll it out into a rectangle. I only make about half the filling. I make some with different flavored jellies and also use mini chips. I make different ones for each disc. One of my favorites...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I decided to make 4 different fillings with the base filling (sans raisins). I had apricot preservers and brown sugar, chocolate chips, dates and then plain. All of them scrumptous. The recipes was so easy! Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Although my mother always made rugelach with butter and sour cream, obviously I can't do that if I want the cookies to be available to my kosher grandkids even after a meat meal. So I replaced the butter with margarine, the sour cream with Tofutti brand's Sour Supreme and the cream cheese with their Better than Cream Cheese. And although the rugelach didn't taste exactly like my mother's, they were spectacular and gone in little more than a minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Not many of us have free refrigerator space for all that chilling. I know I don't. Sounds good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apronhanger
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe. I did not like the way the pie shaped slices rolled so I shaped my dough as a rectangle and cut strips. I like the way that rolled and baked much better. I posted a photo so you can judge for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Was surprised how easy the dough was to make and how far the dough went. I got about 70 rugelach out the dough. They were a huge hit and I'll be making them again and experimenting with fillings. I made half with cinnamon/raisin/hazelnut and other half with raspberry jam (heated in micro with 1 tbsp sugar), dark choc and hazel nuts. And I definitely recommend doing an egg wash on the rolled rugelach otherwise they look dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Oops! This recipe calls for 2 cups flour but it should be 4 cups flour. Otherwise the end product is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Absolutely the best rugelach recipe I have tried. Grew up buying all my cakes, etc. in jewish bakeries and this recipe makes the best I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Lento

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is absolutely yummy! I made it on Christmas Eve and then again on New Year eve. I made 4 different types. 1. Nutella, 2. Cranberry walnut and raspberry jam, 3. walnuts, raisins and raspberry jam and 4. walnuts, chocolate chips and raspberry jam. Was was good but the favourites were the first 2. The second time I made it I found some ways to be more efficient. Follow the instructions exactly, roll out in the circle on wax paper, spread the jam then the cinnamon sugar then the rest of toppings and press lightly. Then lift and place on a plate and refrigerate until the dough firms up a bit. That way its really easy to cut and roll. Then egg wash and sprinkle or roll in cinasugar and refrigerate again. Final tip be sure to remove from baking tray as soon as its finished baking because if not it will fuse to the paper and its difficult to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great recipe! Can anyone help with one small problem I had? These were delicious! The only problem was that before the cookies browned and got flaky, they seemed to melt and flatten on the pan in the oven. My daughter had the same problem, what did we do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States