Rugelach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I don't have a food processor so it was a time consuming process. This recipe was well worth the time! My first batch was a nut-free and I used raisins and organic apricot preserves. The second I followed the exact recipe. They were gone the next day. My family loved them. I have borrowed my grandmothers food processor and will make some more soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjenwest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I love the taste but the dough is a bit hard to handle. It always melt on my hands. Otherwise, I will make it again and again for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
These were a huge hit at the office. For anyone who is having issues with filling falling out, I would suggest pushing the chunky parts of the filling to the outside of the circle (leaving the cinnamon/sugar mixure in the middle) before rolling. This way you can squeeze the raisins/nuts in as you roll. Also if you don't want to make the crescent shape, you can use this recipe to make roulades (exactly the same cookie, just a cinnamon roll-like shape). To do this, roll the dough out either into a rectangle or circle. Then add the toppings. Roll the dough with the filling. Then cut into 1 inch pieces. (Note: If you rolled into a circle, you'll need to cut a 1/4 inch piece off of each end before cutting the 1 inch cookie pieces.) Place seam side down for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This recipe is great! I had never made rugelach before. Just a little labor intensive but worth it! I put the sugar, cinnamon, walnuts and raisins in my food processor and processed them all together until fine. Save a lot of time chopping. The chilling of the dough and the filled rugelach is very important. I also mixed cinnamon and sugar and dipped the cookies before they were baked. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This recipe was an absolute delight to family and friends. I even enjoyed it and I tend to be alittle critical. Warmest regards! FW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Good recipe. I've never had rugelach before and these were pretty good. Didn't keep super well after the first day, so I'm only giving it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, but I thought it could have been sweeter. Next time I will make sure to add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Yum! This recipe has about 1/2 the sugar per serving of the others we looked at and we didn't miss it! Mine stuck a bit to the cookie sheet so I wished I had used a Silpat or parchment paper. The dough is just elegant - almost like a puff pasty. I used unsalted butter and I think I would like to add just a wee pinch more salt to the dough. I know we will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Fantastic!!! But be sure to keep the dough cold and I found it easier to roll it between two sheets of wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: La Prairie, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This Rugelach is OUT OF THIS WORLD! A very flaky dough and very versatile. You can about use any filling you can think of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rugelach

See how to make traditional rugelach with walnuts and raisins.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States