Rueben Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Very good my family loves Ruben so this was a nice twist. Would suggest putting thousand island dressing in with the sourgrout as other suggest or having a dip. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I wanted an easy, casual meal to serve to friends one afternoon, and ruebens seemed like a good choice. I did a quick allrecipe search, though, in case there was a recipe above the norm. This loaf was the PERFECT option. I was able to do all the prep work in advance, bake it timed to guests arrival, and remain free from the kitchen once it was time to eat. I will definitely make this again. I knocked one star off because 1) I think it needs more filling (probably heavier on the meat for us) and 2) it really should be served with Thousand Island (or a dip of Thousand Island flavor) Oh... and a little tip... use a pizza roller to cut the side strips for folding over the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I wish there was an option for 4-1/2 stars because I liked this recipe a lot and can see lots of variations on the theme. This Reuben loaf was a bit dry for my taste, but I bet adding 1/2 cup of Thousand Island dressing to the kraut would do the trick. The mustard in the dough is borderline genius and really adds to the flavor profile, I may double it the next time I make it. I did sub 1 cup of white for rye flour and added caraway seeds for that bit of earthiness, which is highly recommended. I am eager to try this as a Buffalo chicken version with provolone or roast beef with sauteed onions and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was REALLY good! I will be making this often with other sandwich ingredients too. I substituted one cup of rye flour for one cup of the regular flour but you couldn't taste the rye. I also skipped the egg on top. I make bread a lot so instead of the directions for step 1, I mixed the yeast, warm water (about 110-115 degrees) and sugar together and let it sit until it became frothy, about 5 min. Then I added it to the flour, salt, mustard and butter. I mixed it together and then kneaded it in the Kitchenaid for 6 min. I let it rise, covered with a towel, until doubled, for about an hour. Then I followed the rest of the directions starting with step 2. I then mixed ketchup, mayo, pickle relish and horseradish together (like a spicy Thousand Island dressing)to dip the sandwich in. I wouldn't recommend putting it in with the sandwich stuff before cooking so it doesn't get soggy but it was the perfect dip. Great way to use left overs from St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I just made this tonight with a bit of homemade corned beef and it was FANTASTIC! I thought the recipe was simple and did exactly what it called for. We have some leftover ham from Christmas and I know exactly what to do with it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
LOVED this! It was soooooo yummy, I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was a hit with every member of the family. I definitely took some liberties with the recipe. I used the refrigerated french bread loaf and unrolled it to "load it". On half of the loaf I used the ingredients stated with the exception of using Thousand Island Dressing instead of yellow mustard. On the other half, I used the rest of our roast beef (sandwich meat) and coupled it with Russian dressing and American and cheddar cheese. Both sides were totally devoured with many pleasant comments. Thanks for posting! Now I know what to do with our lunchmeat before it goes bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvinlif2k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This was so yummy. I did not make the bread from scratch. I used the Pilsbury French loaf. Yum and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
We made this according to the directions the first time. We liked the idea of the crust but it was a bit thicker and harder than we liked. In the interests of time, the next time, I thawed a loaf of bread dough during the day in the refrigerator. I let it rise a bit then rolled spread it out and added the corned beef, Swiss cheese and sauerkraut. I did the same type of braid, spread with beaten egg and then baked it at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. We used this recipe for a dip/sauce. 1/3 cup mayonnaise 1 1/2 Tbsp ketchup 1 1/2 teaspoons prepared horseradish 1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce Salt, to taste Freshly ground black pepper, to taste Great concept NEHCTERG but we like these slight changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaPintler
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Fantastic use of leftover corned beef. I did substitute 1c rye flour, but it was completely unnecessary. The yellow mustard adds a great flavor and brightness to the bread. I mixed some Thousand Island with hot cream horseradish and we dipped the sandwiches in that. So very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaPintler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States