Rudy's Garlic Scape Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
It's a great recipe, but if you've never cooked with scapes before, you wouldn't know that you need to cut off the white (flowers) from the stems before using it. It made for a very strong pesto. I added basil to my recipe to take some of the bite out of it but I can't seem to tone it down enough for my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This stuff is amazing. I recently discovered Garlic Scapes and now prefer this type of pesto to a traditional basil pesto. Because the flavor is so strong, I use less Garlic Scape pesto and a batch of this will last much longer than regular pesto. Since I can only get garlic scapes from the farm in early summer (locally) - I make up a lot and freeze it to use for recipes during the winter. Once you make this - you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Fabulous! I did half the olive oil. I got more garlic scapes through my CSA, so I plan to make more to freeze. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a great way to use garlic scapes. the pesto was delicious on bread, pizza, veggies, and pasta. We also froze some for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grinnell, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Great recipe but I agree that 3/4 cup of oil is way too much! I used 1/2 cup and will probably start with 1/3 cup next time. Also, used all Parmesan cheese and added some fresh spicy basil. Easy and delicious. Too bad it's not low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
great recipe - except the garlic scape flavor was way too strong, so i added spinach and chard (and more cheese, oil, and nuts) to tone down the flavor. it turned out great! i also didn't have pine nuts, so i toasted pecans and walnuts and used them instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My family loved this. I used pastacio nuts instead of pine nuts. Didn't have Asiago cheese, so I used cheddar and Jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! I also got my garlic scapes from my CSA and didn't know what to do with them. The recipe was a little spicy for me, so I just increased both cheeses by less than a quarter cup, perhaps an 1/8th cup. It was perfect for us. This can also be used for topping steak/chicken or kahlrabi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This made just the right amount to freeze in one ice cube tray. I did take out one of the "cubes" before it was frozen and tossed it over some pasta. My 2 yr old ate it, but no one else really cared for it. I've read that it mellows after freezing, so I am hoping we'll like it better if we try it in a few months. I'm giving it 4 stars for the benefit of the doubt. For now, we'll stick with sauteeing our scapes in eggs and veggie stir fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe. I substituted roasted squash seeds and added a few basil leaves. Make sure you remove the flower head before using (the bump part way up the stalk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States