Ruby-Red Strawberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was pretty good. It wasn't sweet enough but I had small berries and I did not have OJ so I substituted water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I thought this was very good. I used regular orange juice and added red food coloring to zap up the color. Beautiful. Regular orange juice isn't too overpowering. I used fresh strawberries and also frozen and both worked just fine. I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I wanted a juicey chunky strawberry topping for shortcakes (strawberry shortcake) and this did the trick. I haven't been happy with simply slicing fresh strawberries and sprinkling with sugar, it never makes enough liquid but this did. I only used 1/8 c. fresh orange juice which was just enough to make it bright without bringing on an orange flavor. I did not use the cornstarch. I smashed the berries lightly with a potato masher before cooking and added 3 drops of red food coloring to deepen the hue and got the results I have been searching for. Yeaaa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Used 2 cups frozen whole strawberries, half fresh squeeze orange (adding the juice makes the strawberry sauce a fruitier taste and makes a difference) 1/4 cup sugar, few drops red food coloring, and a splash of water. Mashed with a masher when berries were soft. Lots of juice and plenty of mashed strawberries to go ontop of my cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good on pancakes and ice cream. I adjust sugar to taste whenever I make this as fresh picked berries tend to be so sweet already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very quick and easy but it is quite thick. The first time I made it as written and we enjoyed it. The second time I used fresh orange juice instead of concentrate and only 4 tsp. of cornstarch. This gave us just the consistency we wanted for our waffles. The flavor is only going to be as good as your strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Prefer the strawberry taste to be predominant. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was very easy and delicious! I've made it several times now, but made a few changes based on what I had on hand. I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen strawberries (2 cups) which I cut in half or quartered, based on how big they were, and about 1/8 c of fresh Meyer lemon juice (sweeter than regular lemons) instead of the OJ concentrate. I still used the sugar, cornstarch and vanilla. I did not thaw the berries, but put them in the pan frozen since they defrost while cooking on the stove. Turned out wonderful! The next time I made it, I used a combo of fresh and frozen to make more sauce----very good as well. We used it for for Sunday brunch....waffles, strawberry sauce and whipped cream....my 12 year old says this sauce is "beast"! ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Had I prepared this as written I know the orange flavor would have been too prominent in this strawberry sauce. I used fresh squeezed orange juice and the flavor was subtle and nice. Because I used frozen strawberries and because I wanted the sauce thicker to use as a filling for coffee cake, I increased the amount of cornstarch until I had the thickness I desired, keeping in mind that it would thicken as it cooled - probably half again as much. As I always do for strawberry sauce or pie filling, I added several drops of red food coloring to truly make it "ruby-red."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious. The only change I made was that I used blueberry/pomegranate juice instead of orange juice. This juice has become popular so it's easy to find. Otherwise, followed the recipe and it is what I have been looking for. I don't like plain cottage cheese so I add a little bit of this to sweeten it up a bit. Just like what Knudsen sells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States