Ruby-Red Strawberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was pretty good. It wasn't sweet enough but I had small berries and I did not have OJ so I substituted water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I thought this was very good. I used regular orange juice and added red food coloring to zap up the color. Beautiful. Regular orange juice isn't too overpowering. I used fresh strawberries and also frozen and both worked just fine. I definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I wanted a juicey chunky strawberry topping for shortcakes (strawberry shortcake) and this did the trick. I haven't been happy with simply slicing fresh strawberries and sprinkling with sugar, it never makes enough liquid but this did. I only used 1/8 c. fresh orange juice which was just enough to make it bright without bringing on an orange flavor. I did not use the cornstarch. I smashed the berries lightly with a potato masher before cooking and added 3 drops of red food coloring to deepen the hue and got the results I have been searching for. Yeaaa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Used 2 cups frozen whole strawberries, half fresh squeeze orange (adding the juice makes the strawberry sauce a fruitier taste and makes a difference) 1/4 cup sugar, few drops red food coloring, and a splash of water. Mashed with a masher when berries were soft. Lots of juice and plenty of mashed strawberries to go ontop of my cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good on pancakes and ice cream. I adjust sugar to taste whenever I make this as fresh picked berries tend to be so sweet already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very quick and easy but it is quite thick. The first time I made it as written and we enjoyed it. The second time I used fresh orange juice instead of concentrate and only 4 tsp. of cornstarch. This gave us just the consistency we wanted for our waffles. The flavor is only going to be as good as your strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Prefer the strawberry taste to be predominant. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was very easy and delicious! I've made it several times now, but made a few changes based on what I had on hand. I used a 16 oz. bag of frozen strawberries (2 cups) which I cut in half or quartered, based on how big they were, and about 1/8 c of fresh Meyer lemon juice (sweeter than regular lemons) instead of the OJ concentrate. I still used the sugar, cornstarch and vanilla. I did not thaw the berries, but put them in the pan frozen since they defrost while cooking on the stove. Turned out wonderful! The next time I made it, I used a combo of fresh and frozen to make more sauce----very good as well. We used it for for Sunday brunch....waffles, strawberry sauce and whipped cream....my 12 year old says this sauce is "beast"! ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Had I prepared this as written I know the orange flavor would have been too prominent in this strawberry sauce. I used fresh squeezed orange juice and the flavor was subtle and nice. Because I used frozen strawberries and because I wanted the sauce thicker to use as a filling for coffee cake, I increased the amount of cornstarch until I had the thickness I desired, keeping in mind that it would thicken as it cooled - probably half again as much. As I always do for strawberry sauce or pie filling, I added several drops of red food coloring to truly make it "ruby-red."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious. The only change I made was that I used blueberry/pomegranate juice instead of orange juice. This juice has become popular so it's easy to find. Otherwise, followed the recipe and it is what I have been looking for. I don't like plain cottage cheese so I add a little bit of this to sweeten it up a bit. Just like what Knudsen sells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States