Ruby Red Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This is a great salad- I only use 1/2 the recommended sour cream. It tasted too much like yogurt with the full amount. I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
Excellent compliment to turkey! This will be a new favorite! I used all raspberry jello and added a bit of cream cheese with the sour cream. SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
this is a beautiful salad. I made it for Thanksgiving and everyone wanted it again at Christmas. I doubled it for my crowd, but I would suggest not doubling the pineapple so it will jell properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Very tasty. Love the tartness of the raspberry jello and the frozen raspberries. Added whip cream instead of sour cream and it was delish! Second time made it with the sour cream - it was so much better! Don't skip the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
A family favorite at Christmas dinner. I substitute 16 oz. can of pitted bing cherries (drained) instead of cranberry sauce. Sometimes I layer salad in individual sherbert glasses--recipe divides easily between 10 glasses. Great presentation plus the addition of a sprig of mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
Fantastic! Everybody loved it. I chilled the cranberry sauce (which helped speed up the process a little). I did not add the pineapple, but it did not seem to matter. The taste and texture was great. And no matter what, don't forget the sour cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
YIPPEE! A jello salad with no cream cheese or cool whip! I loved this. No cloying sweetness here. I will make this again and again. My whole family loves gelatine salads, but this one was the very best! Thanks Poni. ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Thank You so much for this recipe. It was a great hit for our Christmas dinner. I wasn't sure about the sour cream but it was fine. Thanks again. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Easy to make and delicious. It's a nice change from the overly sweet gelatin salad recipes out there & makes a nice dinner side dish...it's more like a relish or cranberry sauce type of side than a typical gelatin salad. It got rave reviews from a crowd not prone to compliment such things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Yum! I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it, including the kids (all toddlers). I had many recipe requests. I was a little skeptical about how the sour cream would taste with it, but it was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States