Ruby Red Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
No really sure what happened here...but the first layer of jello never solidified so I had to scrap the whole thing! :( Could be my own error though.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bergj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Not a big hit with my family. I agree with an earlier post that sweetening up the sour cream would help or maybe adding some cream cheese. I didn't mind the chunkiness of the cranberries, but like many youngsters, my children didn't care for it. They might like the jellied cranberry sauce better, but I don't think I'll make this again at least for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This was wonderful, a change from the usual cranberry salad. I too added a few pecans in the final layer and was also surprised that the sour cream had more of a whipped cream sensation when layered between these gelatin layers. My family and friends ate the leftovers as a dessert snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My late grandmother used to make something very similiar to this every holiday. It wasn't a holiday without it. The only difference was we used only Strawberry jello, frozen strawberries and bananas along with the crushed pinapples! Makes me miss Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
We tried this recipe for Thanksgiving. It was good but too sweet-and believe me, I love sweet! I made the recipe according to instructions. Will use sugar-free jello if I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Hopkins Church

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I hate jello salads, but my husband loves them and I wanted to make him one for Thanksgiving. So I decided to try this one. I had my doubts--it seemed like it had a LOT going on, and I debated leaving out some of the ingredients. But I used them all, and it turned out great. Eveyone loved it, including me!! I even had seconds! I made several changes. I made it in a 9x13 pan, so I used large boxes of sugar-free Jell-O instead of the small ones. For the middle layer, I mixed together the sour cream with 8 oz. of cream cheese and a teensy bit of Splenda. Canned cranberry sauce has too much sugar in it for my family's taste, so I made my own, using one bag of cranberries, about 1/4 C Splenda, and the juice from a large can of crushed pineapple (the no-sugar-added variety), heated it on the stove until the cranberries started to pop and then chilled in the fridge before using in the top layer. I can't get over how impressed I am with this recipe. I think it will start making a yearly showing at our Thansgiving table. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I thought this was just okay. It was very pretty but the fruity parts were too sweet and I didn't like the taste of sour cream mixed in...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenMomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is pretty tart and would be a wonderful replacement for cranberry sauce. Followed recipe exact and my family found it hard to eat on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Easy to make,all the flavors meld well together.My kids had no idea there was cranberry in it.Don't save this one for the holidays,tasted great with bbq foods or comfort foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I have made this a few times and both times it was a big hit...I love the combination of flavors and the red is perfect to add color to any meal for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States