Ruby Red Layered Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good, easy recipe! I used sugar free jello and a thin layer of sourcream. Also added walnut's and topped with coolwhip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savanna, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made this dish for Thanksgiving dinner -- it went so fast! I've been asked to make it again for Christmas. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was really really good. Made it for T-day and even non-cranberry fans enjoyed it! I will make this again, for sure. I did not, however, use a whole pint of sour cream. I just put a thin layer on. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! Yummy! I used just raspberry jello (sugar free) and it was very good! Looks very pretty in a clear glass bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
We love this and have been making it every year since it was originally posted! I substitute cool whip for the sour cream most times and change the jello flavors occasionally. Chunk pineapple instead of crushed... it all works beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Great recipe! Jello salads don't always fly at our family get-togethers, but all of this was eaten. Per other's suggestion, I also added chopped pecans to the first sour cream layer. I used only rasperry Jello since it's my favorite fruit flaver. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is so good. Don't change a thing here. Thanks for the really great recipe. It's been at our Thanksgiving table for some time now and will continue to be ... along with the other cranberry dishes people bring. Mine even has it's own special glass dish to show off it's pretty layers, ha ha ha. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I skipped the cranberry sauce and just used more crushed pineapple. Big hit at our Father's Day BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I am not a jello fan and I LOVE this dish. The sour cream is very important in making it creamy and rich. I saw Paula Deen make a similar dish on her show and she said it is her favorite dish. Mine too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This is a favorite recipe of mine from childhood that we ate every Thanksgiving. When I saw it on this site, I figured I'd throw my two cents in! I always make it in a 9x13 glass dish instead of a bowl, and I put the cranberry layer on the bottom and the raspberry layer on top. Since the frozen raspberries make the raspberry layer start setting quickly, you can stir it up for a few minutes and then spread it right on top of the sour cream without a long waiting period. (You can add a few ice cubes if the raspberries don't make it set well enough.) I usually use light sour cream to reduce the fat in this dish. I think everyone should try using sour cream the first time they make this instead of substituting. The sour cream is my favorite part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States