Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! I used ground turkey and only 1 c ketchup because I ran out. I'm glad I did though, another 1/2 cup would have been too much ketchup for our taste. Thanks for sharing, this is my new go-to joe recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Let's just say that after making this I will no longer buy any sloppy joe mix out of a can! I took tat's suggestions of adding some garlic and a couple of dashes of liquid smoke. I also toasted my kaiser rolls. So so good. like I said - no more canned joes for my crew! I love how I'll be able to mess with this in the future by varying the kind of salsa I use. This time I used a super chunky medium, which was great. Next time my husband and I agreed to try a black bean and corn type for something a little different. Can't wait - this was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I gave it four stars because it turned out VERY salty. The ketchup, Worcestershire, and mustard contain a lot of salt. I think the brands I used had extra. Next time, I will use a canned tomato sauce instead of ketchup and pay close attention to the sodium content. Otherwise, great flavor! The hot sauce and salsa add a nice zing to it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapphire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were very good!! Will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
These sloppy joes are awesome!! I will not buy the packet from the store anymore. I did add some extra hot sauce though! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made these tonight on the advice of several on the RE and they didn't disappoint. I made a double batch and froze half for another time. I didn't measure the ketchup or salsa and think I might have used a bit less than the recipe states, but I definitely got all the flavor. I also used white wine vinegar instead of plain vinegar. I added some red pepper flakes to mine for a bit of added top heat. I wasn't looking for a Southwest flavor in these and fortunately, the salsa just adds the tomato and onion flavor. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I truly enjoyed this recipe. I was afraid the salsa might make it taste too "southwest" but it was just right... and I didn't have to add onions as I do on the recipe I usually use. It's tangy and sweet as sloppy joes are supposed to be. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was a great recipe for our helpers when my daughter moved into her new home. Everybody loved it and it was very easy to make. Thanks so much for the recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Excellent! My 18-year-old son made these for dinner. I added this to our family favorites. Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: I sauteed onion and red pepper with the ground beef. Drained off grease before adding remaining ingredients. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Good sloppy joes! Made these for my fiance and I tonight. Nothing beats good 'ol sloppy sandwiches for SuperBowl game watching!!! My fiance was on the fence about these, but mind you, he doesn't care for "sloppy" stuff (who knew?). I would have thought sloppy joes are the "ideal" man food, but I guess that's not the case for EVERY man lol.... Having said this, although I like LV's version, I prefer mine a little better.... My version calls for a lb. of ground beef, 1 1/3 c. chunky salsa, a can of condensed tomato soup and a T of brown sugar - that's all. It's pretty basic, and that's what I like about it. Both taste similar, but these are a tad tangier (which I don't like). I really don't see the point in adding vinegar, mustard or hot sauce since they barely added anything to the end product (again, these taste a lot like my basic recipe). Oh, and be sure to use chunky salsa, not the soupy cheap stuff. It really makes a difference (and will make your joes a lot sloppier if you don't). Serving these on toasted kaiser rolls (brush cut rolls with a mixture of melted butter / garlic powder and broil for a minute or two), took these to the next level, IMHO. With the addition of a side of seasoned waffle fries, I had dinner on the table in no time flat (and more time to watch the game!!!). Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States