Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
These were good but my family all agreed not great. They tasted somewhat like Manwich. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This meal was great. My husband isn't usually a fan of sloppy joe's but he said this was the best sloppy joe he had ever eaten! It did seem like there was too much sauce so I only only used about 3/4 of it. Overall great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good stuff. I made these over the weekend and put them in the freezer to eat and it worked just great. I used a homemade salsa and toasted my buns so they wouldn't get so soggy. Looking forward to eating the leftovers at work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I loved these! I bought a Medium salsa that was actually rather hot so I should have left the hot sauce out. It was too hot for the kids. I left out the brown sugar because hubby is a diabetic. I only used 1 cup of ketchup. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is def the best sloppy joe recipe I've tried from AR! The flavor was very different w/the addition of the salsa, however, still just a tad too "ketchupy" & sweet for me. I wish you could give 1/2 stars, this deserves a 4.5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Had this for dinner tonight with my 5 and 6 year old boys. Very easy, FAST and we all loved it. I made the recipe as-is. I probably had more than a pound of GB since I had some in the fridge to use up, and it was plenty saucy. Note to parents with picky eaters: my 6 year old excavated his sandwich with a fork for the "chunky pieces", next time I think I'll pick picante sauce and use half as much ketchup! definitely toast the buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Oh WOW! Spicy hot tangy sweet rich tomatoey YUM. These are sooooo good. I used ranchero salsa and louisiana hot sauce. I added 1 more spoon of sugar to balance the heat. I did add a tsp of minced garlic to the meat as it cooked and about half tsp of chicken bouillion granules and 1/3 c water. I had to simmer this though for an hour to get it thickened. Edible but a bit on the hot side the way I made them maybe louisiana hot cayennepepper sauce isn't the type meant here? Either way, they are delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These were the absolute best sloppy joes we have ever had! Most are too sweet for my husband's liking, but these were perfect. What a great idea to add salsa! I didn't add hot sauce since my salsa was of medium heat. I used large hamburger buns, browned under broiler, and topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Thanks so much for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This just took the place of another home made Sloppy Joe recipe I've had for many years. Very good. I added onions and green peppers and used less ketchup (I doubled the recipe and didn't have enough) but it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimJas

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States