Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is def the best sloppy joe recipe I've tried from AR! The flavor was very different w/the addition of the salsa, however, still just a tad too "ketchupy" & sweet for me. I wish you could give 1/2 stars, this deserves a 4.5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Had this for dinner tonight with my 5 and 6 year old boys. Very easy, FAST and we all loved it. I made the recipe as-is. I probably had more than a pound of GB since I had some in the fridge to use up, and it was plenty saucy. Note to parents with picky eaters: my 6 year old excavated his sandwich with a fork for the "chunky pieces", next time I think I'll pick picante sauce and use half as much ketchup! definitely toast the buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Oh WOW! Spicy hot tangy sweet rich tomatoey YUM. These are sooooo good. I used ranchero salsa and louisiana hot sauce. I added 1 more spoon of sugar to balance the heat. I did add a tsp of minced garlic to the meat as it cooked and about half tsp of chicken bouillion granules and 1/3 c water. I had to simmer this though for an hour to get it thickened. Edible but a bit on the hot side the way I made them maybe louisiana hot cayennepepper sauce isn't the type meant here? Either way, they are delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These were the absolute best sloppy joes we have ever had! Most are too sweet for my husband's liking, but these were perfect. What a great idea to add salsa! I didn't add hot sauce since my salsa was of medium heat. I used large hamburger buns, browned under broiler, and topped with shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Thanks so much for great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This just took the place of another home made Sloppy Joe recipe I've had for many years. Very good. I added onions and green peppers and used less ketchup (I doubled the recipe and didn't have enough) but it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimJas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This stuff is fantastic! I'll never get the canned mix again. The salsa is a great addition and really lets you control the spiciness. We love spicy, so hot salsa and a little extra hot sauce made this delicious for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
We thought this version of sloppy joes was good, but I found it to taste like the popular canned version. I will stick with our favorite recipe on here for sloppy joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a really good recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I just had a baby and so I am trying to get to be a better cook so I can cook for her when she is a bit older =) I am sure she will love this recipe, it is so easy for me to prepare and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States