Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is the first time I've made sloppy joes!! Very impressed, and my kids even liked it. I didn't use quite as much salsa, and no hot sauce. Less brown sugar since I used less salsa and honey mustard instead of dijon; not the same I know, but it was what I had. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I used 2 lbs ground beef, kept salsa as is, halved the rest of the sauce ingredients and added 1 tbsp minced garlic, family loved it! no more cans for us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! I used ground turkey and only 1 c ketchup because I ran out. I'm glad I did though, another 1/2 cup would have been too much ketchup for our taste. Thanks for sharing, this is my new go-to joe recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Let's just say that after making this I will no longer buy any sloppy joe mix out of a can! I took tat's suggestions of adding some garlic and a couple of dashes of liquid smoke. I also toasted my kaiser rolls. So so good. like I said - no more canned joes for my crew! I love how I'll be able to mess with this in the future by varying the kind of salsa I use. This time I used a super chunky medium, which was great. Next time my husband and I agreed to try a black bean and corn type for something a little different. Can't wait - this was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I gave it four stars because it turned out VERY salty. The ketchup, Worcestershire, and mustard contain a lot of salt. I think the brands I used had extra. Next time, I will use a canned tomato sauce instead of ketchup and pay close attention to the sodium content. Otherwise, great flavor! The hot sauce and salsa add a nice zing to it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapphire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were very good!! Will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
These sloppy joes are awesome!! I will not buy the packet from the store anymore. I did add some extra hot sauce though! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made these tonight on the advice of several on the RE and they didn't disappoint. I made a double batch and froze half for another time. I didn't measure the ketchup or salsa and think I might have used a bit less than the recipe states, but I definitely got all the flavor. I also used white wine vinegar instead of plain vinegar. I added some red pepper flakes to mine for a bit of added top heat. I wasn't looking for a Southwest flavor in these and fortunately, the salsa just adds the tomato and onion flavor. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I truly enjoyed this recipe. I was afraid the salsa might make it taste too "southwest" but it was just right... and I didn't have to add onions as I do on the recipe I usually use. It's tangy and sweet as sloppy joes are supposed to be. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was a great recipe for our helpers when my daughter moved into her new home. Everybody loved it and it was very easy to make. Thanks so much for the recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States