Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
These were pretty good! Sweet and tangy. I used mild salsa, and I did take the advice of other reviewers and reduced the ketchup to one cup and halved the amount of vinegar. Also left out the hot sauce as I can't eat anything really spicy. Other than that, I left everything the same. Will definitely be making again. So much better than manwich (which I do like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Great recipe. Omitted the vinegar altogether, as the ketchup, salsa and mustard all have vinegar in them. We used to use tomato soup, canned, but the salsa livens up the taste buds and cuts down on the salt. Thanks, this is super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drhoh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made these for some friends. They said they were the best they'd ever had, and asked for the recipe. I used balsamic vinegar and peach salsa, and omitted the hot sauce. I served this with deviled eggs. It is imperative that you simmer this until it gets thick. This allows for the flavors to blend properly, as well as attain the appropriate texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat541

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I've now made this recipe several times and have found it to be very enjoyable. It is easy, can be prepared rapidly, and it tastes great. Those who are extremely sensitive to spice may find this to be a bit on the hot side, but I enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This recipe is delicious exactly as written, even served on the potato rolls. They are even better served on toasted garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Whenever I make a new recipe the family rates them as keepers or tosses. 4 out of 5 of them said good choice keep it. I did make a few small changes I added minced garlic and onion. Used ground turkey and omitted the hot sauce I'm not fond of spicy food. I also only used 1 cup of ketcup. It was a little watery but I just kept cooking till it thickened and I enjoyed it. Most of all it was EASY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Made these for my boys..... So much better than the canned. Definite keeper. Yummy, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Excellent!! Added some garlic and a little extra hot sauce - just a personal preference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Easy and tasty. a little saucy for my family, but otherwise perfect. I used 1pound of cooked chopped turkey leftovers and simmered a little longer to try and reduce the sauce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I used Picante Sauce instead of chunky salsa because that is all I had. I followed the directions as written otherwise. I really loved this one and it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States