Rubbed Down Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Even though we are garlic lovers in this house, after reading the reviews of others, I decided to make a few changes to the recipe. Instead of the 2 tbsp of garlic powder, I sprinkled garlic powder, along with salt and pepper over the chops (so used less than 1 tsp total), then I rubbed in the minced garlic as called for, into the chops. I then browned the chops as Mitzi8 suggested, and then added the water and worchestershire sauce mixture, along with 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar to the browned chops. While the chops were simmering, I sauteed the mushrooms (doubled the amount) and onions in a small skillet in 2 tsp of butter, and added them to the chops with about 5 minutes left in the cooking. The result was delicious - my husband gave it 'the highest stars.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
I thought this might be too salty with 1 tsp. salt, but followed recipe exactly anyway. They were not too salty,however, I think they were too PEPPERY and the Worcestershire was too prominent in my opinion. I baked an additional 20 minutes @375, after braising the second 10 minutes;due to my chops were really thick. They were juicy and the mushrooms were great, it was quick, and pretty good. Maybe if you added a little something sweet like balsamic vinegar or maple syrup it would of balanced out the flavor more. I will try again, doing that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
very good! instead of putting mine in a skillet, I baked them. I rubbed the pork with the dry ingredients and put them in the oven 350x45minutes. While they were baking I put the minced garlic, worchestershire sauce, and water in a saucepan to heat up, then drizzled it on top when the chops were done. I omitted the onion and mushrooms. But fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
We liked this recipe. I used 32 ounces of mushrooms and the same amount of Worsestershire and water. I browned then removed the chops adding them once again after the vegetables were cooked. I then cooked the pork for 10 minutes and thickened the sauce with flour to go over rice. Served with fresh green beans and baked bread. Easy to prepare. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITZI8
Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This is a staple in my dinner now. I have made it around 4x and now make about 5 or more pork chops, and then after cooked, I add onions/mushrooms a little more water for about 8 mins then add on top of pork chops. It taste great every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Good home cooking, husband and son both loved it, I was OK with it, hence the 4 stars. I rubbed pork chops with 1 tsp garlic powder, salt and pepper. I browned chops, removed them, then sauteed the onions and mushhrooms in dripping until soft. I then added garlic and sauteed until I could smell it (hate burnt garlic, it's so bitter!). Added chops back along with rest of ingredients and simmered 1/2 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I agree with most reviewers this was very good. It was tender and had a bit of a kick, too. I did have to add water a couple extra times or it would have dried out. Still, I would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel's Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This recipe had my favorite ingredients in it, but there was definitely something missing in the way of flavor. I used Colgin's Hickory Smoked Worcestershire Sauce, McCormick's Smokey Slack Pepper and I can tell that these added an extra "kick" which helped, but even with loads of garlic (never enough), I still couldn't find the taste. I usually use a pork rub and will have to stick to that for now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooksW/Love
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was De-Li-cious! If you love garlic this is just excellent. I followed the measurements for dry spices as directed and used about 5 cloves of garlic and smothered them on one side of each chop after rubbing them down with the spices. I browned them first an sauted the onion rings & mushrooms in butter flavored cooking spray and tablespoon of butter as other reviewers suggested. Even though I think I slightly overcooked them, the worchestire sauce mixture, kept the chops moist. My husband and I really enjoyed these and will definately make again, with more mushrooms and more sauce. I plan on slicing up the left over 2 chops and toasting them in a sandwich roll w/ more sauted onion, mushroom, bellpeppers and cheese! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States