Rubbed Down Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Even though we are garlic lovers in this house, after reading the reviews of others, I decided to make a few changes to the recipe. Instead of the 2 tbsp of garlic powder, I sprinkled garlic powder, along with salt and pepper over the chops (so used less than 1 tsp total), then I rubbed in the minced garlic as called for, into the chops. I then browned the chops as Mitzi8 suggested, and then added the water and worchestershire sauce mixture, along with 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar to the browned chops. While the chops were simmering, I sauteed the mushrooms (doubled the amount) and onions in a small skillet in 2 tsp of butter, and added them to the chops with about 5 minutes left in the cooking. The result was delicious - my husband gave it 'the highest stars.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
I thought this might be too salty with 1 tsp. salt, but followed recipe exactly anyway. They were not too salty,however, I think they were too PEPPERY and the Worcestershire was too prominent in my opinion. I baked an additional 20 minutes @375, after braising the second 10 minutes;due to my chops were really thick. They were juicy and the mushrooms were great, it was quick, and pretty good. Maybe if you added a little something sweet like balsamic vinegar or maple syrup it would of balanced out the flavor more. I will try again, doing that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
very good! instead of putting mine in a skillet, I baked them. I rubbed the pork with the dry ingredients and put them in the oven 350x45minutes. While they were baking I put the minced garlic, worchestershire sauce, and water in a saucepan to heat up, then drizzled it on top when the chops were done. I omitted the onion and mushrooms. But fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
We liked this recipe. I used 32 ounces of mushrooms and the same amount of Worsestershire and water. I browned then removed the chops adding them once again after the vegetables were cooked. I then cooked the pork for 10 minutes and thickened the sauce with flour to go over rice. Served with fresh green beans and baked bread. Easy to prepare. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITZI8
Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This is a staple in my dinner now. I have made it around 4x and now make about 5 or more pork chops, and then after cooked, I add onions/mushrooms a little more water for about 8 mins then add on top of pork chops. It taste great every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Good home cooking, husband and son both loved it, I was OK with it, hence the 4 stars. I rubbed pork chops with 1 tsp garlic powder, salt and pepper. I browned chops, removed them, then sauteed the onions and mushhrooms in dripping until soft. I then added garlic and sauteed until I could smell it (hate burnt garlic, it's so bitter!). Added chops back along with rest of ingredients and simmered 1/2 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This recipe had my favorite ingredients in it, but there was definitely something missing in the way of flavor. I used Colgin's Hickory Smoked Worcestershire Sauce, McCormick's Smokey Slack Pepper and I can tell that these added an extra "kick" which helped, but even with loads of garlic (never enough), I still couldn't find the taste. I usually use a pork rub and will have to stick to that for now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooksW/Love
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was De-Li-cious! If you love garlic this is just excellent. I followed the measurements for dry spices as directed and used about 5 cloves of garlic and smothered them on one side of each chop after rubbing them down with the spices. I browned them first an sauted the onion rings & mushrooms in butter flavored cooking spray and tablespoon of butter as other reviewers suggested. Even though I think I slightly overcooked them, the worchestire sauce mixture, kept the chops moist. My husband and I really enjoyed these and will definately make again, with more mushrooms and more sauce. I plan on slicing up the left over 2 chops and toasting them in a sandwich roll w/ more sauted onion, mushroom, bellpeppers and cheese! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I agree with most reviewers this was very good. It was tender and had a bit of a kick, too. I did have to add water a couple extra times or it would have dried out. Still, I would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel's Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States