Rub Noodle Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
My grandma, then my parents mad this but we called it Potatoes and Rivels. Fantastic comfort food, but we add bits of bacon, then we serve it with shredded cheese on top.....mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This soup is amazingly simple for how great it tastes. I did tweak the formula a bit. I made a 4 serving pot of this soup and added about half a can of evaporated milk just after i put in the drop noodles. I also used more egg because the dough was too dry and added sage to the broth. Fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sayward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Boy, my husband loved this! I added some celery and chicken base, cooked the potatoes in 6 cups of water and added 2 cups of skim milk in place of the last 2 cups of water right before I stirred in the rub noodles. Hubby ate three huge bowls full and wouldn't let me throw away the dab of soup left in the kettle; plans on eating it for lunch today. A good 'old school" potato soup and a definite winner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I love this recipe. I have made it three times for my family. I usually use chicken broth and add chopped celery instead of celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
This is a terrific soup! I used a combination of Yukon Gold and red skinned potatoes and probably used more potatoes than the recipe stated. Also, as a reviewer suggested, I cooked my potatoes in a chicken broth. In addition,I smashed some of the potatoes. It was thick, rich and wonderful. Will make it again! Thanks Jeanie Bean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
Really good, I have made it twice already in a few weeks time. I added 2 chicken boulloin cubes, carrots, and celery to give it a brothier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2000
I grew up on this soup. My grandmother and my mother made it, and now I make it. We never used a recipe, but this gets guaranteed results every time. The ultimate comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
Pure comfort food! Went together in a snap. I added some minced parsely at the end for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
I've been looking for this recipe for years. This is the way my mom made potato soup. It's delcious -- one of those recipes that is much better than it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States