Royal Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Perfect for making roses that need to withstand though stuff, also perfect for decorating sugar (scene) eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My mom and i used to decorate cakes for wedddings. She used this recipe all the time for the fine details used on the cakes. Her tip was to use a drop of blue food colouring to keep the icing a brilliant white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Came out awesome. i didnt have to use as much sugar as the recipe called for and came out as thick as i needed it to. used it to ice our cookies and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
We loved this frosting. We did subsitute almond extract for the lemon. It took several hours or over night to set frosting completley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I love this! I like to add lots of water so that it's syrupy and dip my sugar cookies in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
dont forget food coloring to match whatever your making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Perfect icing for writing icing or glueing on fondant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeoITMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I use this frosting all the time and its amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Adjust the sugar and lemon juice (or water) for your desired consistency. To 'flood' a cookie and get a smooth finish you would want the icing a little loose and I would probably start with 3 cups of sugar. If you beat our egg whites enough it will stiffen up quickly (any yolk will prevent egg whites from stiffening). Put cookies in the fridge or freezer to stiffen quicker if you plan on piping on decorations after the initial base of frosting. This recipe does need to be thicker, or of piping consistency, to pipe on more intricate decorations. This means almost as thick as creamy peanut butter (sorry that's the best thing I can think of to compare to). To achieve this consistency simply add more powder sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krystle
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Absolutely amazing for decorating cookies and so easy to make however it doesn't work very well for holding things together. The outside get's crusty but the inside (if using a thicker coat) stays soft. I added a touch of pure orange extract to get rid of the raw egg smell and the added flavour gave the icing a citrus taste which was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States