Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Works great. Make sure to beat it a good long time with a powerful mixer to get air into the icing and thicken it. I love some lemon juice and vanilla in it for flavor, but have to add some more sugar to make up for the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This recipe is great! I did add a little bit more butter/sugar for taste but otherwise they baked up soft and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Perfect for a gingerbread house, holds it all together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2000kitties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Added vanilla to taste as little flavour otherwise. Used pasteurized egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
perfect! wouldn't change a thing! thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Worked out great! Used this for my daughter's splatter cake. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ClydesBonnie
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Having almost no experience with icings and flooding I tried this recipe on sugar cookies (AllRecipes Best Rolled Sugar Cookies). I found the icing easy to work with, tasted great, and looked great on the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! I am pretty new at decorating cookies, so if I can do this, I am pretty sure anyone can! I followed another review, and used one cup of powdered sugar, 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar, and one egg white. I wanted the smaller batches, as I wanted to do a couple of different colors. I know I could have made one large batch and divided and colored it, but I was doing the cookies in stages, and actually found it to be easier to make separate smaller batches as I was ready for it. The first batch I made, I thought it seemed a little runny, so I added a smidge more powdered sugar. Although it worked out, do NOT do that! It is so much easier to work with when it is a tad thinner- it spreads and sets beautifully! Thanks for sharing a terrific recipe- I am going to be using it a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I think with a few tweaks this recipe can be very versatile. For gingerbread house icing, add another egg and another 1/2 tsp cream of tartar and mix for 7-8 minutes(non-stop). Time based on use of a Kitchenaid stand mixer wisk attachment speed 4 then 6 when all incorporated. Frosting is ready when firm peaks form and is back to White color. This will make very workable frosting that is quite hard when dry. If you want more firm, add another tbsp or 2 of confectioners sugar. For the issue of smell and flavor, add 1/2tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp almond extract. Adjust to taste, but my family loves it. For cookie frosting, spread thin. this will be thick, butmakes very stackable cookies that hold decorations well.. For an easier to use cookie icing, use my same recommended ingredients above, but only beat 4-5 minutes as instructed above. Cookie icing will be a bit thinner and spread more evenly. If too thick, add 1/2 tsp water at a time to desired consistency. be careful to not use too much water. This colors well for lots of variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dakar
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made the Children's Gingerbread House recipe from this site, then used this recipe for icing since I had cream of tartar (magic stuff) and I know it really helps the icing harden. I made it just as listed but did this one change: mixed it until it got combined and a bit stiff, then since it didn't seem strong enough, added about 1/2 cup extra powdered sugar with a sifter a little at a time until it got pretty hard to mix. You can tell when it's done cause your shoulder hurts a bit, but should be nowhere near "beater-breaking". :) This recipe made enough to ice a small gingerbread house (using Wilton house cutters) with all the trimmings (men, trees, etc.). (If you had a large house I would bump up to 95 servings or so for 3 egg whites and more sugar.) It held like a dream! I probably didn't even need to prop up the roof (though I did out of habit and I recommend this practice). I do use toothpicks to prop up the other stuff. Hint: put icing under the toothpicks. Basically, just put icing on the "ground" wherever you need it, then just use a sifter or sieve to scatter powdered sugar snow over everything to hide it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States