Royal Icing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
perfect icing for decorating cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This icing worked out pretty well, but I had to spread it with my fingers as it was too thick to use anything else. Maybe more water would've helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I forgot to leave a rating when I used this recipe. To make my fondant bow stick together, I used this icing as the glue. It didn't dry enough and ruined the bow. Oh well. Next time I know better to at least let it dry for a WHOLE day! ***UPDATE*** I used this again for my daughter's castle cake. Works pretty darn good as long as you don't use a huge blob like I did with the fondant bow. ***UPDATE*** Used this recipe for other daughters castle cake. It works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Great recipe for sugar cookie cut outs! It hardens very nicely without there being the gooey middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is a 5 star recipe as far as making gingerbread houses and panorama eggs. It is not very tasty but dries super hard and holds things together like glue. Because it is fast drying, you want to keep plastic wrap over it in a covered bowl and put a damp towel over your decorator tubes when not using. Air will dry it out. UPDATE: I used this recipe to make candy buttons from the 1950's. It's a great way to use up any left-over icing. I suggest drying them at least 24 hours to get them hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
WOW. This is Gingerbread House Superglue... Mine dried rock-hard in about an hour and a half. TIP: If you don't have two sets of hands to hold the vertical pieces together when assembling your house, try using Press 'n' Seal plastic wrap. I put it, sticky side out, over the serving platter I put my house on. The "stick" is just enough to hold the pieces in place as the icing sets, without having to recruit extra hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was the perfect icing for my gingerbread cookies. It was easy to make. I would use this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This royal icing is the best!! I added lemon extract to pick up the flavor and wow! What an awsome icing! Consistancy is wonderful to work with, it does not dry to fast, and it won't break your teeth either. I also added a bit extra confectioners sugar to one batch for piping and it worked perfectly. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugardiva1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is the royal icing recipe I use for cake decorating. It is so easy to make, and turns out perfectly every time! Be sure to keep the icing covered with a damp cloth when it is not being used; it dries out very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
We just whipped up a batch of this recipe because the icing that came with our gingerbread house kit was not setting up firmly enough. Thank goodness I had meringue powder on hand. This recipe was perfect! Not only is it far superior to what came with the kit, but it is whiter as well, making the overall visual effect much nicer. Incidentally, I didn't need very much so I halved the recipe and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States