Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
For gluing together gingerbread houses I had to use a total of 6 C of confectioners sugar, and I probably should have used 7. I can see how this would be good for making a hard glaze on sugar cookies, but it didn't work for us as a glue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
this icing was not shiny at all. The taste also was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blacktulip05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
good! I added about an extra cup of powder sugar to make it thicker for piping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was my first time making Royal Icing. I made lingerie shower bra/panty cookies and the icing worked very well. I painted the cookies with a silicon pastry brush and the icing smoothed out without a problem (no brush marks). I piped dots around each cookie without any issues. The icing was a little runny at first but once you let it sit it'll thicken. Also I kept a damp cloth over my icing bowl when I was not using it to keep it from hardening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I had never used royal icing before and I absolutely loved it. It was just perfect for my sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This is a great royal icing. It made excellent decorations for my gingerbread men. We used other types of extracts to give our icings different flavors (like vanilla and almond) and added more sugar to make the icing stiffer so it didn't run when we put it on the cookies. Definitely add more sugar if you're putting it on gingerbread houses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Checotah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was good, but I didn't like the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I used this for Halloween and Christmas and now for Valentines day! Its perfect! I do use powdered egg whites in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
So easy and so perfect! It dried quick enough and stayed hard, unlike other cookie icing recipes I've tried. I was only planning on doing some piping on the cookies so I reduced the recipe by half. I used vanilla extract since I didn't have the lemon, and used 2 egg whites and 2 1/2 C of the powdered sugar, as per one of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This recipe is to close to regular icing. It didn't hold up my Gingerbread house. If you are making a gingergread house, your icing recipe should call for cream of tarter. It is the key to turning your icing into cement quickly. Learned this the hard way, hope it helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States