Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I had never used royal icing before and I absolutely loved it. It was just perfect for my sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This is a great royal icing. It made excellent decorations for my gingerbread men. We used other types of extracts to give our icings different flavors (like vanilla and almond) and added more sugar to make the icing stiffer so it didn't run when we put it on the cookies. Definitely add more sugar if you're putting it on gingerbread houses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Checotah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was good, but I didn't like the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I used this for Halloween and Christmas and now for Valentines day! Its perfect! I do use powdered egg whites in place of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
So easy and so perfect! It dried quick enough and stayed hard, unlike other cookie icing recipes I've tried. I was only planning on doing some piping on the cookies so I reduced the recipe by half. I used vanilla extract since I didn't have the lemon, and used 2 egg whites and 2 1/2 C of the powdered sugar, as per one of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This recipe is to close to regular icing. It didn't hold up my Gingerbread house. If you are making a gingergread house, your icing recipe should call for cream of tarter. It is the key to turning your icing into cement quickly. Learned this the hard way, hope it helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Great icing for putting your ginger bread house together! I love the slight taste of lemon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
added additional 1/2 cup conf. sugar to thicken the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Fantastic recipe. I used this on gingerbread cookies I made, and the cookies absolutely disappeared before my eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I have never reviewed anything here but this recipe changed that. This is perfect iciing. We just constructed our gingerbread house with it. I have always been a disaster with piping icing but this stuff made all the difference. It went on easily and smoothly and is drying quickly as I type. I had to come back and add, I did leave some of this covered (laid saran wrap over top touching the icing so it wouldn't dry out) and when I came back to use it later is was much more runny and more difficult to use. So my advice is to use it as soon as you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States