Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I gave it only 4 stars because I had to add another cup of sugar to get it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe was awesome!! I haven't worked with Royal Icing in years, and the last time I used it was after someone else made it. I whipped the dickens out of the egg whites and they were nice and airy when I added the confectioners' sugar. I was concerned at first because the batch was really really thick. But after I piped a few cookies, I watched out the batch did the glazing affect and it was pretty cool to see that it smoothed out as it harden. I think the lemon was a nice touch, but am thinking of using this again with a different flavor or extract. And going to attempt using a sugar alternative the next go around to see if I can make this sugar free. Thanks so much. This is a keeper for me and my future cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used this icing for cupcakes it was better than frosting them this one is a keeper for sure. I was a bit thick when I made it so I add a little water and it turned out just fine not to thick not to runing 5 *s. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
good for glue and drawing lines, terrible for making flowers, too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I made this recipe at last minute to top and perfect my lemon pound cake and I guess what people say to always come prepared is true. I halves the recipe and still had left overs and the icing wasn't quite thick enough for me but the one thing that really went wrong was I used regular sugar and not powdered sugar. I guess if I let it sit for a couple of hours it would be less grainy but that's the only real problem, it's a great simple recipe and definately worth making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! It's so easy. I used it for a cake and will continue to use it. It's also great to use for cookie decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I used this recipe on some sugar cookies to "glue" some skewers to the back (for making cookie flowers) and it worked like a charm. I did only make 1/4 of the recipe (1 egg white, 1 cup of sugar, and a dash of fresh lemon juice) and it made enough for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for to drizzle over persimmon cookies! I've made it a couple times, but substituting vanilla or orange extract for the lemon extract. Hardens up nicely overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOLLISKAT
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Easy to make this perfect icing! Makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLISKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Worked wonderrfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States