Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe was awesome!! I haven't worked with Royal Icing in years, and the last time I used it was after someone else made it. I whipped the dickens out of the egg whites and they were nice and airy when I added the confectioners' sugar. I was concerned at first because the batch was really really thick. But after I piped a few cookies, I watched out the batch did the glazing affect and it was pretty cool to see that it smoothed out as it harden. I think the lemon was a nice touch, but am thinking of using this again with a different flavor or extract. And going to attempt using a sugar alternative the next go around to see if I can make this sugar free. Thanks so much. This is a keeper for me and my future cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used this icing for cupcakes it was better than frosting them this one is a keeper for sure. I was a bit thick when I made it so I add a little water and it turned out just fine not to thick not to runing 5 *s. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
good for glue and drawing lines, terrible for making flowers, too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I made this recipe at last minute to top and perfect my lemon pound cake and I guess what people say to always come prepared is true. I halves the recipe and still had left overs and the icing wasn't quite thick enough for me but the one thing that really went wrong was I used regular sugar and not powdered sugar. I guess if I let it sit for a couple of hours it would be less grainy but that's the only real problem, it's a great simple recipe and definately worth making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I LOVE this recipe! It's so easy. I used it for a cake and will continue to use it. It's also great to use for cookie decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I used this recipe on some sugar cookies to "glue" some skewers to the back (for making cookie flowers) and it worked like a charm. I did only make 1/4 of the recipe (1 egg white, 1 cup of sugar, and a dash of fresh lemon juice) and it made enough for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for to drizzle over persimmon cookies! I've made it a couple times, but substituting vanilla or orange extract for the lemon extract. Hardens up nicely overnight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HOLLISKAT
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Easy to make this perfect icing! Makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLISKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Worked wonderrfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Love this icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Primes Rayburn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States