Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Wonderful! This icing was nice and thick and perfect for our gingerbread men! It was so thick I had to spoon it on and spread it with a paintbrush. It dried quickly too! It was drying as I used it and I think it was completely dry in about 5 hours or so. It was PERFECT for making tye-dye effects too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We used the frosting for cut out sugar cookies. I found the easiest way to use this is to put the icing in a ziplock bag and cut a very small part of the corner off. It is much easier (and less sticky) to spread the frosting around. This way, the sprinkles are the only really messy part of decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Excellent! I made no changes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Super easy to make and easy to scale. Thanks for sharing! This made my gingerbread men MUCH more exciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Osbourne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Perfect...I used it to ice my sugar and gingerbread cokies, but used vanilla instead of lemon flavor. Might try almond in the future...outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstarz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I gave it only 4 stars because I had to add another cup of sugar to get it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe was awesome!! I haven't worked with Royal Icing in years, and the last time I used it was after someone else made it. I whipped the dickens out of the egg whites and they were nice and airy when I added the confectioners' sugar. I was concerned at first because the batch was really really thick. But after I piped a few cookies, I watched out the batch did the glazing affect and it was pretty cool to see that it smoothed out as it harden. I think the lemon was a nice touch, but am thinking of using this again with a different flavor or extract. And going to attempt using a sugar alternative the next go around to see if I can make this sugar free. Thanks so much. This is a keeper for me and my future cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I used this icing for cupcakes it was better than frosting them this one is a keeper for sure. I was a bit thick when I made it so I add a little water and it turned out just fine not to thick not to runing 5 *s. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
good for glue and drawing lines, terrible for making flowers, too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States