Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This turned out great. I was in a really big hurry so I didn't measure anything. Just threw the three ingredients in and mixed it up until it was a smooth consistency. I thought I had made the icing too thick but it turned out perfectly. We constructed 4 gingerbread houses with about 3 cups of icing. The icing took about 5-10 minutes to set up and hold pieces of the house together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Recipe is quite misleading - I ended up using over a pound of confectioner's sugar to make it stiff enough to pipe onto gingerbread people to adhere decors on. Maybe if I were to ever use this recipe again, I'd use just one egg white and take it from there. I had a LOT of waste after adding all that sugar to stiffen it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is great! We used 3 egg whites, 4 cups confectioner's sugar and 1 tsp vanilla. We piped it to decorate gingerbread men and sugar cookies. Will DEFINATELY be using this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
The rating for this recipe was so good I didn't even bother reading the reviews--and I was super disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly and it's just as runny as the reviews say; and was pretty useless for making a gingerbread house (which is what I was making). I tried several times to construct my house with it, but the icing slid right down the sides and didn't even come close to filling in the natural nooks and crannies of the gingerbread--maybe some better bakers than me know how to make gingerbread houses with perfectly straight-edged pieces that would hold together with this icing. And you definitely can't do any decorating with it. I suggest using Royal Icing III by Veronica. It was the perfect thickness to be manageable while still setting fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
AACCKK! Not sure what we did wrong but this came out SUPER runny and was incredibly hard to work with. We were hoping it would be a thicker toothpaste-type of consistency to use in assembling our gingerbread houses, but it was so thin and runny. What a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Worked great! Added some vanilla powdered extract for a more intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Great tasting recipe but was very runny. I will try it again with more sugar to see if its easier to work with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
First time making these and it turned out wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Worked like a charm. The addition of the lemon extract adds some flavor that other royal icings lack. Now, if I could just get some patience and decorating skills.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Wonderful! This icing was nice and thick and perfect for our gingerbread men! It was so thick I had to spoon it on and spread it with a paintbrush. It dried quickly too! It was drying as I used it and I think it was completely dry in about 5 hours or so. It was PERFECT for making tye-dye effects too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States