Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I didn't have any trouble with this recipe. I followed the recipe, except I used vanilla extract instead of lemon. It worked fine, and I didn't have any problems with runny icing. Maybe it's because I beat the egg whites for a long time? Well, great recipe. Tasted great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
For this recipe I added 1/4 tsp baking powder and mixed again at high speed. If it dries out too much just add a Tlb of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissys_cooking
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was so easy to make and easy to work with. I used this recipe to decorate cookies for Halloween. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissys_cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Used this for icing sugar cookies and it worked beautifully. I used vanilla extract, as that is what I had on hand, and it was delicious. This will be my go-to sugar cookie icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I think the mixed results for this recipe are due largely to to undefined size of egg. There is a big difference between small and jumbo size eggs and all the sizes in between. This recipe probably works very well with small eggs, but if you are using larger eggs you should take the increased volume of egg into consideration and either reduce the egg count to 2-3 or plan on increasing the sugar content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was awesome! Made pretty, lasting decorations for a wedding cake. Best of all, I liked how it didn't call for meringue powder, which is expensive! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
i didnt actually get to eat any of the cookies i used this on, but from others comments i know it was worth keeping around for another day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Niroszyckame
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Worked out perfectly! Really yummy but not too sweet and hardenend up wonderfully. Used it to make rice crispy dinosaur easter eggs! Pictures posted :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Easy recipe to use for decorating! I opted for vanilla flavoring instead of lemon, and also made some with mint extract. Next time I need to get a peppermint extract instead of the mint extract (A mixture) though because it tasted like toothpaste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Add about 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar if you're looking to use this icing as a glue. It will hold much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States