Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Used this for icing sugar cookies and it worked beautifully. I used vanilla extract, as that is what I had on hand, and it was delicious. This will be my go-to sugar cookie icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I think the mixed results for this recipe are due largely to to undefined size of egg. There is a big difference between small and jumbo size eggs and all the sizes in between. This recipe probably works very well with small eggs, but if you are using larger eggs you should take the increased volume of egg into consideration and either reduce the egg count to 2-3 or plan on increasing the sugar content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was awesome! Made pretty, lasting decorations for a wedding cake. Best of all, I liked how it didn't call for meringue powder, which is expensive! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyowen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pampa, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
i didnt actually get to eat any of the cookies i used this on, but from others comments i know it was worth keeping around for another day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Niroszyckame
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Worked out perfectly! Really yummy but not too sweet and hardenend up wonderfully. Used it to make rice crispy dinosaur easter eggs! Pictures posted :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Easy recipe to use for decorating! I opted for vanilla flavoring instead of lemon, and also made some with mint extract. Next time I need to get a peppermint extract instead of the mint extract (A mixture) though because it tasted like toothpaste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Add about 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar if you're looking to use this icing as a glue. It will hold much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a good recipe. If it's coming out runny it's because you're not beating it enough. I let my mixer go for 5 minutes and beyond until I get peaks. It's shiny and tastes good too. By the way, did you know you can actually freeze royal icing? Just thaw and beat again and it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
So easy! So delicious! So easy to work with. Definitely a keeper1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momtorissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was my first time making royal icing. I followed the recipe exactly, but substituted the lemon juice with vanilla instead. The result was a very runny consistency so I ended up having to have more confectioner's sugar until I got a workable consistency. I used the icing to pipe my sugar cookies for a birthday party. In the end, my cookies came out beautifully and everyone enjoyed them. However, I would definitely suggest adding more confectioner's sugar to thicken up the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States