Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Perfect for gingerbread houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I realised that I left my meringue powder at my parents' home and was at such a loss, until I found this recipe that is :) I used vanilla instead of lemon for my Valentines Day sugar cookies, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
First time making royal icing. I used these on some sugar cookies and they made the sugar cookies taste AWESOME!!! Love this recipe. A but runny, but still manageable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gema Mazon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Was great for decorating "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" by Jill Saunders :D.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernieEirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I thought 4 egg whites was too much -- I used 2 egg whites and came out great. It was perfect for our gingerbread house and held the pieces up well. Doesn't taste good though - good for something like a gingerbread house where you just need it to be more strong than tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My eggs must be grade F lol because my icing turned out very runny. It was fine though since I didn't use it for gingerbread houses. We used it to decorate gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
First time followed amounts and had to add a lot more powdered sugar. Second time halfed the egg whites and simply kept adding sugar till I got the thickness I wanted. Love how fast it hardens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had to alter this a little bit to make it thick enough. I used 2 egg whites, whipped really well, then added 3+ cups of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjeannetteb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great glue and icing for our gingerbread house!! I read other reviewers thoughts and used 3 large egg whites and 4 cups of confectioners sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and a dash or two of cream of tartar. PERFECTION. And the first time too!! (to pasteurize egg whites- slowly stir the egg whites with a whisk over a double boiler until they are warm to the touch but not too long!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is a nice icing for cookies. I tried to make it for assembling a gingerbread house but even with adding cream of tartar to hopefully thicken it it was still to runny. I will keep this recipe for cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States