Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Was great for decorating "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" by Jill Saunders :D.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernieEirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I thought 4 egg whites was too much -- I used 2 egg whites and came out great. It was perfect for our gingerbread house and held the pieces up well. Doesn't taste good though - good for something like a gingerbread house where you just need it to be more strong than tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My eggs must be grade F lol because my icing turned out very runny. It was fine though since I didn't use it for gingerbread houses. We used it to decorate gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
First time followed amounts and had to add a lot more powdered sugar. Second time halfed the egg whites and simply kept adding sugar till I got the thickness I wanted. Love how fast it hardens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had to alter this a little bit to make it thick enough. I used 2 egg whites, whipped really well, then added 3+ cups of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjeannetteb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great glue and icing for our gingerbread house!! I read other reviewers thoughts and used 3 large egg whites and 4 cups of confectioners sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and a dash or two of cream of tartar. PERFECTION. And the first time too!! (to pasteurize egg whites- slowly stir the egg whites with a whisk over a double boiler until they are warm to the touch but not too long!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is a nice icing for cookies. I tried to make it for assembling a gingerbread house but even with adding cream of tartar to hopefully thicken it it was still to runny. I will keep this recipe for cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I didn't have any trouble with this recipe. I followed the recipe, except I used vanilla extract instead of lemon. It worked fine, and I didn't have any problems with runny icing. Maybe it's because I beat the egg whites for a long time? Well, great recipe. Tasted great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
For this recipe I added 1/4 tsp baking powder and mixed again at high speed. If it dries out too much just add a Tlb of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissys_cooking
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was so easy to make and easy to work with. I used this recipe to decorate cookies for Halloween. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissys_cooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States