Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I would half this recipe...as it makes A LOT. I found I had to add a bit of water to loosen it & then a bit more powdered sugar & it was the perfect thickness. I also skipped the lemon extract & used vanilla which tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
it was good. Yes rather runny but hardened perfectly after being left on for a few hours. I made my own powdered sugar by putting it in the vita mix it worked very well. I also used it on sugar cookies and added sprinkles. Yum we all enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was an easy recipe and hardened perfectly. Just refrigerate and use later if you don't want the extra to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I give this a 5 stars for decorating sugar cookies....it is runny if made as instructed and can't imagine it would be good glue for a gingerbread house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I used this as a base and made some modifications. I had 3 egg whites left over from another recipe so I planned to use 3 cups of confectioner's sugar (1:1 ration for you math people). However, I found it a bit runny so I added another 0.5 cup to get to the consistency I wanted -- plus, I didn't want to wait forever for the icing to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I also added almost one cup more powdered sugar as this was for school and I thought it would hold the houses a bit firmer while it dried. Used the pasteurized egg whites, worked great. Used vanilla in place of lemon since I had it on hand. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This recipe was really easy to make. Like everyone else said, it was thin, however adding more icing sugar thickened it up nicely, and the original consistency was great for flooding sugar and gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Perfect for gingerbread houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I realised that I left my meringue powder at my parents' home and was at such a loss, until I found this recipe that is :) I used vanilla instead of lemon for my Valentines Day sugar cookies, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
First time making royal icing. I used these on some sugar cookies and they made the sugar cookies taste AWESOME!!! Love this recipe. A but runny, but still manageable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gema Mazon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States