Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CountryGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
WAY too runny -it came out of my icing bag like water. Be prepared to either add one less egg white or a lot more sugar. I used this recipe to make snowflakes for a cake and after adding a lot more sugar to the icing, the snowflakes turned out fairly well. I would use this recipe again, although with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Perfect for the 40 gingerbread houses I had to make using graham crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
The first time I made royal icing, it was definitely very runny, but here is the secret!!! The longer you beat your egg whites, the thicker it will be. The solution is not to add more icing sugar! Eggs whites will eventually turn into a thick foam, like shaving cream. You don't want your egg whites that thick, but just keep beating them! Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This recipe turned out great! A tip I learned from cake school, never use plastic while making royal icing as it breaks the icing down. Also just beat at high speed. It will stiffen in about five minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I would half this recipe...as it makes A LOT. I found I had to add a bit of water to loosen it & then a bit more powdered sugar & it was the perfect thickness. I also skipped the lemon extract & used vanilla which tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
it was good. Yes rather runny but hardened perfectly after being left on for a few hours. I made my own powdered sugar by putting it in the vita mix it worked very well. I also used it on sugar cookies and added sprinkles. Yum we all enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was an easy recipe and hardened perfectly. Just refrigerate and use later if you don't want the extra to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I give this a 5 stars for decorating sugar cookies....it is runny if made as instructed and can't imagine it would be good glue for a gingerbread house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I used this as a base and made some modifications. I had 3 egg whites left over from another recipe so I planned to use 3 cups of confectioner's sugar (1:1 ration for you math people). However, I found it a bit runny so I added another 0.5 cup to get to the consistency I wanted -- plus, I didn't want to wait forever for the icing to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I also added almost one cup more powdered sugar as this was for school and I thought it would hold the houses a bit firmer while it dried. Used the pasteurized egg whites, worked great. Used vanilla in place of lemon since I had it on hand. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States