Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Great recipe! I used powdered egg whites which worked well. I had to add some powdered sugar to thicken it for piping and finishing my gingerbread house but used it "as is" to spread on sugar cookies which my kids added sprinkles to. Will def use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamuggle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
After using up the store brand icing that came with the gingerbread house, I needed to make a quick icing to finish up the house so I chose this recipe but replaced the lemon extract for vanilla and it was fantastic!!! The consistency was perfect, I did add just a little bit more of the conf. sugar but it was great to work with, not runny at all, just thick enough to spread!! Thanks for the save!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Excellent! It is SO hard when dry! I just found that it was kind of hard to use after about 15 minutes, but I think thats because of my supplies, and now the icing itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Sorry, I also found this runny. My happy faces quickly turned into blob expressions. Used vanilla extract, 1/2 t, and liquid food colouring--and even added an extra half cup of icing sugar due to previous reviewers' comments. Since I used this to ice chocolate chip cookies for a preschool potluck, it didn't really matter how blobby they looked. Kids liked them all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
this tasted good but it was so runny that it was really hard to work with. icing gingerbread cookies was a huge pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Fantastic. Maybe a little less yummy then just plain powdered sugar and milk, but so wonderful the way it hardens and stays on! No need for wax paper between cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
It worked okay, but was waaay runnier than I expected. I found it hard to decorate with unless I was making large areas of solid colour. The recipe should mention this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
We are making gingerbread houses, and this has made for perfect glue and was hard as a rock as it dried. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was a great icing recipe...I was looking for a keeper to use with my sugar cookies (The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies from this site by the way are the BEST...) This recipe worked GREAT with the pasteurized egg whites that come in a carton from the egg section, I was making cookies for my daughters pre-school class so regular raw egg whites were out of the question. I did add a 5th cup of powdered sugar as I wanted a stiffer icing. Worked and dried beautifully...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was my first time using Royal Icing. I found this icing very easy to use for spreading as well as piping. Used vanilla extract and it tasted great. Took several hours to dry completely so they could be packed away. Used to decorate pumpkin cut-out sugar cookies that were then mailed to my husband Saudi Arabia. Cookies held up very well in shipping. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieSuz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States