Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Perfect! My new favorite royal icing recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe was super easy. I used almond extract instead of the alcohol and used the frosting to decorate individual brownie bites with a ganache frosting I made (also from this site). I'll definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I am an utter cookie decorating novice and had a few technical problems decorating my gingerbread stars (filled my piping bag WAY too full, had Royal icing up to my ELBOW!) and husband wanted to know how much I'd had to drink before I decorated them but the icing is easy to make and made even my wiggly splodges look pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Royal Icing is such a pain in the you know what to make. The consistency has to be perfect and I can never seem to get it right! Mine was too runny to put in a decorating bag, so I just dipped my gingerbread cookies in it, then sprinkled with red and green sugar. Looked great and dried nice and hard! Royal Icing can dry out on you, so just cover the bowl with a damp paper towel so that doesn't happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My 11-year old prepared this and it came out excellent. We used food coloring to make differenct colors and then iced our "Busia's Cutout Cookies" from this site. When preparing, the icing will have a distinct lemony flavor. However, when the icing hardens much of this goes away. That is good, because the lemony flavor was just a bit too much for my 8- year old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
So quick and easy! My 5 and 6 yr old had a great time making this. We used it to construct our mock gingerbread house from graham crackers.We subbed vanilla for the lemon extract with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXwildchild

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I actually really liked this icing a lot. I used it to glaze gingerbread people. The only thing is that it makes a TON TON TON of icing. I didn't think ahead and just made the whole recipe. I could have cut it by 1/4th or even 1/8th and still had a tad of leftover icing. One tip I have is to just use 1/2 of the vanilla extract. I was not looking for a "flavorful" icing- just a pretty one that would be very decorative and not detract from the flavor of the cookie underneath. This is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Good recipe. It hardened up just like it should!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
What could be better than an icing recipe that is so simple, tastes well (for royal icing anyway) and easy to work with!? This will be my go to recipe whenever Royal Icing is in the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Good, but required an extra cup of confectioner's sugar to get to piping consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States