Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe. I used 1/2 cup pasteurized egg whites from a carton. If your icing is too thin, it's not because you do not have enough powdered sugar, it's because you need to beat this type of icing for A LONG TIME. I beat mine for about 5-7 minutes on high to get to a "flooding" consistency and about 8-10 minutes for "outlining" consistency for decorating cookies. Just keep beating...it will thicken up. This is a meringue icing...JUST BEAT IT!! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I really like this recipe. It worked great on small butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lenoir City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Excellent frosting: spreads nice, dries fast, won't crack or melt. You can make interesting variations by adding food coloring and/or different extracts like vanilla or almond. Thank you!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virpi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fina
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Great..! It hardens up quite good. Perfect for my cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Used for the "glue" while making an easter edible treat! Worked fantastic...I didn't have lemon extract so I used orange...yummy!!! Easy to work with and hardens nicely! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Perfect icing for my gingerbread men. Like other reviewers said, it made a TON of icing. I decorated probably 50 gingerbread men and didn't even put a dent in the icing. Easily 1/3 it or 1/4 it. I also used a pasturized egg white product from the refrigerator section near the eggs, so I wouldn't worry about the kids. It worked quite well. It may have been more runny because of this - next time I will make it thicker. Hardened up perfectly though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This icing was great on my gingerbread cookies for Christmas...it dried quickly. The only thing I would do is add another 1/2 to 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar after beating the mixture at high speed. After making my first batch of icing, I saw that the it was a little runny; by adding the extra confectioners' sugar, it stiffens it up some. It had a nice light lemony taste to it to, which went great with the gingerbread cookies I made this past year. Also, if you are adding food coloring to the icing, I would add a little more confectioners' sugar after doing that as well...thanks, and I will keep in my recipe box to make in the future! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Did a perfect job!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~canyon~

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This worked well for flooding the cookies but not to write or pipe details-it was too runny even after adding lots of extra powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Perfect for my gingerbread cookies since it dries nice and hard for packing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States