Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Used for the "glue" while making an easter edible treat! Worked fantastic...I didn't have lemon extract so I used orange...yummy!!! Easy to work with and hardens nicely! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Perfect icing for my gingerbread men. Like other reviewers said, it made a TON of icing. I decorated probably 50 gingerbread men and didn't even put a dent in the icing. Easily 1/3 it or 1/4 it. I also used a pasturized egg white product from the refrigerator section near the eggs, so I wouldn't worry about the kids. It worked quite well. It may have been more runny because of this - next time I will make it thicker. Hardened up perfectly though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This icing was great on my gingerbread cookies for Christmas...it dried quickly. The only thing I would do is add another 1/2 to 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar after beating the mixture at high speed. After making my first batch of icing, I saw that the it was a little runny; by adding the extra confectioners' sugar, it stiffens it up some. It had a nice light lemony taste to it to, which went great with the gingerbread cookies I made this past year. Also, if you are adding food coloring to the icing, I would add a little more confectioners' sugar after doing that as well...thanks, and I will keep in my recipe box to make in the future! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Did a perfect job!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~canyon~

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This worked well for flooding the cookies but not to write or pipe details-it was too runny even after adding lots of extra powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Perfect for my gingerbread cookies since it dries nice and hard for packing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is a good recipe. I do cake decorating and it's a variation of those which use merengue powder (in place of the egg white in this one). Because I had a can of powdered egg yolk in my cupboard, I used that in place of the fresh egg white in this recipe. I figured I may as well try. (water is added to the powder to create the white) I made half a recipe of the frosting and it was plenty for my 4 doz. gingerbread men. Just a tip; make sure to cover the bowl when not using the frosting and also use a moist cloth to put the tip of your bag in when not frosting the men - the frosting will start to harden and it will be difficult to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Easy To Make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Perfect for "painting" my gingerbread cookies. I halved the recipe and it was still way too much for 25 gingerbread cookies (completely iced). I used vanilla instead of lemon, although I think lemon would be delicious. I don't need to find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States