Roxie's Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These are so good. Not your typical Bran muffin. I used plain flour because that is what I had on hand. I used a granny smith apple and chopped it instead of shreading it. I like the chunks. I also added some chopped pecans. I added extra bananas because my bananas were very small. This is a great tasting, moist recipe. One other thing, fill the muffin cups FULL. This recipe doesn't rise very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Perfect, healthy bran recipe. I used oil instead of melted butter and dried blueberries instead of raisins. I don't think all the steps in the directions are necessary: simply mix the wet ingredients (plus raisins) and dry ingredients separately and then mix them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Excellent use of leftover/stale Bran cereal! I did not have any bananas so used 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (and foregoed the apple as well), I also subbed Splenda - 2 tbsp. for the honey as I had no honey! :) They just came out of the oven and they are nice, light and fluffy! (Oh yeah, they do need baking powder - I used 1/2 tsp for the batch). Thanks for the recipe! I needed one in a flash and this one was Exchange recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Awesome!!! I subbed safflower oil for the butter, added a generous squeeze of lemon juice over the banana and grated apple before mixing them in, chopped the raisins (without plumping them), and added broken walnuts for some crunch. I also reduced the honey to 1/3 cup, and they were still plenty sweet for my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very moist, not what I expected from a bran muffin. It had a light fruity taste and just the right amount of raisins. I didn't bother microwaving the raisins to make them soft, I just let them soak in the milk/egg/cereal mixture for five minutes. I used all-purpose flour as opposed to wheat and 2 Tbsp. of veg. oil instead of melted butter. I also added 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar. These made exactly 12 muffins that rose up nicely and they were done in 20 minutes - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a really good bran muffin recipe and very easy although I did make some changes. I didn't have bananas so I subbed in 1/3 cup of vanilla yogourt and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp baking powder. I also used white flour and subbed blueberries instead of raisins. They were very moist and tasty. I did bake them at 400 but they were ready in 15 minutes. I'll keep this in my files and definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I thought that this is a realy great recipe! The only thing I did for a change is that I added a little vanilla and baking powder. the baking powder makes them puff up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Excellent muffins! Took the advice of one reader and used a little baking powder (1/2 tsp.)--not sure if that was it, but these muffins definitely came out lighter and fluffier (but not yet cupcake-like) than all the other healthy muffins I've been trying. Also used whole wheat pastry flour, instead of just regular w.w. flour. Perfect amount of sweetness and good fruits! Definitely will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
OH MY GOODNESS this recipe is amazing! I didn't have any apples on hand, so I doubled the bananas. Next time will try it with the apples, but it was so amazing this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PianoGirl1982

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
didn't change a thing and these were fantastic! all the teachers at my kids' preschool asked for the recipe! very very good, thanks so so much for sharing this recipe! the cereal box i bought has a very similar recipe printed on its inside, but this one is healthier and tastier!! i love to find good recipes for the kids that don't have sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States