Roxie's Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very moist, not what I expected from a bran muffin. It had a light fruity taste and just the right amount of raisins. I didn't bother microwaving the raisins to make them soft, I just let them soak in the milk/egg/cereal mixture for five minutes. I used all-purpose flour as opposed to wheat and 2 Tbsp. of veg. oil instead of melted butter. I also added 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar. These made exactly 12 muffins that rose up nicely and they were done in 20 minutes - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a really good bran muffin recipe and very easy although I did make some changes. I didn't have bananas so I subbed in 1/3 cup of vanilla yogourt and added 1/2 tsp of vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp baking powder. I also used white flour and subbed blueberries instead of raisins. They were very moist and tasty. I did bake them at 400 but they were ready in 15 minutes. I'll keep this in my files and definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I thought that this is a realy great recipe! The only thing I did for a change is that I added a little vanilla and baking powder. the baking powder makes them puff up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
SCORE! I have tried several bran muffin recipes and these are THE BEST. My 9 year old wanted to sign up on here to tell you all that even though she really, really doesn't like raisins you don't even know they are in here. I have made several batches during the last week and they are wonderful every time, friends raved as well. I use the following substitutions: SOY MILK instead of dairy, 1 Tbs OIL & 1 Tbs APPLESAUCE instead of butter. I like to add 3/4 tsp BAKING POWDER for just a little fluff and I prefer Granny Smith apples not only for the tartness but also for the pretty flecks of green from the peel. I have even substituted 1/3 ground oat and flax for 1/3 of the flour (that I ground myself when I was short on WW flour) and they still turned out light & moist. This will replace my refrigerator muffin mix as they are well worth the bit of time. Thank you for sharing Roxie's recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Yum yum yum!! These are so good! I followed the recipe exactly like it was..well, with the exception i put my apple in the food processer and made it in very small chunks instead of shredding the apple. I read some reviews that said these don't rise much so they added baking powder. i would NOT do that personally. It was perfect like it was, just be sure to fill your muffin cups full b/c they do not rise much. My huband said these were the moistest muffins he's ever had. My kids couldn't get enough of them. I will make these often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Tia
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
These turned out wonderfully. Had my three year old daughter help me make them. Made a few changes. I used Raisin Bran Cereal instead of using raisins and plain bran cereal. I soaked the cereal in the milk and egg for almost 10 minutes-just while i was getting the other ingredients together. Also used 2 Tbsp of applesauce instead of butter and 1/3 cup honey as others had suggested. I also used all organic ingredients which i think makes it taste better. I will surely be making these again and again. Might try making them different ways. A handful of walnuts would sure top them off! OH and my daughter LOVED them. She kept asking for more. Eventually had to cut her off, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Excellent use of leftover/stale Bran cereal! I did not have any bananas so used 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (and foregoed the apple as well), I also subbed Splenda - 2 tbsp. for the honey as I had no honey! :) They just came out of the oven and they are nice, light and fluffy! (Oh yeah, they do need baking powder - I used 1/2 tsp for the batch). Thanks for the recipe! I needed one in a flash and this one was Exchange recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Perfect, healthy bran recipe. I used oil instead of melted butter and dried blueberries instead of raisins. I don't think all the steps in the directions are necessary: simply mix the wet ingredients (plus raisins) and dry ingredients separately and then mix them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These are so good. Not your typical Bran muffin. I used plain flour because that is what I had on hand. I used a granny smith apple and chopped it instead of shreading it. I like the chunks. I also added some chopped pecans. I added extra bananas because my bananas were very small. This is a great tasting, moist recipe. One other thing, fill the muffin cups FULL. This recipe doesn't rise very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Awesome!!! I subbed safflower oil for the butter, added a generous squeeze of lemon juice over the banana and grated apple before mixing them in, chopped the raisins (without plumping them), and added broken walnuts for some crunch. I also reduced the honey to 1/3 cup, and they were still plenty sweet for my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States