Roxie's Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Wanted to try using bran cereal in my baking (fibre is good for you, right?) and this is what I decided to go with. I liked the ingredient list, especially the fact that it doesn't call for a cup of vegetable oil. I'm not too fond of raisins in my bakeware (read: it makes me gag), but one review claimed you can't tell. Well, you can, but it's not so bad. I would chop-chop the raisins next time, though. And I did add 3/4 tsp of baking powder. I don't know if that changed anything. Oh: I didn't actually have all that much honey on hand. So ended up using 1/8 cup of honey and 1/8 cup of maple syrup and then gave up. Muffins were sweet enough nonetheless. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
We really liked these, but I think I'll leave the raisins out next time (just a personal preference). They weren't dry at all, and my daughters loved them--I loved that they're all-natural and full of wholesome ingredients! I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great muffins! I doubled the amount of baking soda to make them rise more, and they turned out beautifully! Very moist, and they were deliciously sweet even without sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewlywedCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I went looking for a 'banana-bran' recipe and came across this one. I love that these are healthier than most muffins, and can easily be a breakfast-on-the-go. I make them exactly as the recipe is written (although sometimes I use chocolate chips instead of raisins to please my three year old!) Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I used fiber one cereal, substituted canola oil for the butter and added a 1/2 t baking powder and 1 t vanilla as mentioned in other reviews. Next time I plan on using brown sugar and a little extra liquid in place of the honey. These will go on my regular breakfast rotation. They were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I make this recipe all the time. I only use 1/3 cup honey, olive oil instead of butter, plus a little baking powder. I don't like raisins, but I've had them without, which was still good, and I've had them with blueberries, which was awesome. They're yummy and full of fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
YUMMY!These are the best bran muffins I ever tasted!Even my kids liked them. I omitted the raisins because I don't like raisins.I was running out of honey so I did a 1/4 cup of honey & 1/4 cup maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Nice, hearty, moist muffins. I love that all of the different flavors from the banana, apple, cinnamon and honey work so well together and one doesn't over power any of the others. Also have to love the fact that they only have 2 tablespoons of butter! I wrapped these individually and used them as a post-workout snack on some days. With apples coming into season soon, I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These are great! Only made a couple modifications, used applesauce instead of butter and reduced the honey to 1/3 cup to make them even healthier. Still sweet and really enjoyed them! I used Special K high protein bran cereal so they have a little protein in them as well. Will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
excellent bran muffins, I recently made these and when I opened the fridge to get an apple.....No apple! So I substituted two medium carrots (grated). Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States