Roxie's Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very good bran recipe. Followed advice of others - applesauce instead of butter and used 2 mashed bananas (no apples). Quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
just Absolutely amazing!!! even better than my regular and amazing "Apple and Banana Cupcakes" recipe from this site. i used raisin bran ceral in place of the raisins and bran, 2/4 cup water in place of milk, 1/2 cup all purpose flour and 1/2 cup oatmeal, and 1/2 cup packed brown sugar in place of honey. I have to say, this recipe is AMAZING and after eating one right out of the oven, i immediatly ate THREE MORE. i couldnt help it! leaves a delcious sweet taste in your mouth without being overly sweet like candy. i think its the raisin bran that gives it the special taste. so much healthier than the normal recipes i make, AND SO MUCH MORE DELCIOUS! these are irrisistable. the key is to mix as little as possible after adding the bran to keep the muffins moist and soft, and fill the cups to the top with batter! try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Delish and healthy too! THe only changes I made was no banana (since i make banana bread a lot) and applesauce instead of butter. I also added a little cloves and nutmeg and wheat germ. Really great and my kids loved them too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is my new go to bran muffin recipe! I love that it is sweetened by honey and fruit only - no sugar! I made 3 changes to this recipe that made a big difference: I added 1/2 tsp. baking powder, which made the muffins a little fluffier, cut the apple into small chunks instead of shredding it, and used 2 tbsp. oil instead of butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I love all the fruit in these muffins! The only changes I made were to add ground flax seed and wheat germ for a nutritional bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
We substituted blueberries for the raisins the first time we tried this recipe. Since then we've made it frequently and always varied the fruit ingredients. I love that I can give them to my kids and feel confident in the ingredients. Perfect for breakfast on the run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These are really tasty, moist, and healthy! I also did not microwave the raisins (just let them soak with the cereal) and I diced the apples instead of shredding. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Amazing. I substituted apple sauce for the apple. I also used a food processor to puree the banana and cranberries. The best bran muffins I've encountered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I used wheat bran instead of cereal, 2tbsp veg oil instead of butter and chopped up a frozen banana. I didn't bother plumping the raisins - I just mixed them in with the dry ingredients and added to all the wet ingredients, barely stirred the two together and baked. After exactly 20 minutes I had 12 warm, tasty, beautifully domed muffins. I'll be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! Not at all a "greasy" muffin. I probably make this a couple times a month. (We love muffins for breakfast here!) The only change I usually make is oil in place of the butter and I use 2 bananas instead of a banana and an apple. (Shredding apples is a lot of work in the morning!) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States