Rouxless Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Hunter, thank you so much for this easy delicious recipe. My husband made this gumbo and it was superb! He is a decent ‘follow the directions’ sort of cook and he did with this recipe, even making a quick trip to the grocery store to pick up a couple of things. He followed the recipe and the outcome is well worth bragging about. It made a big potful and unless our grandson (the bottomless stomach)shows up in the next day or so, I am going to freeze some of it for another delicious meal. I could rave on a bit more, but I hope it is enough to say thank you again and please submit some more lovely meals like this one for us to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Thank you for posting this recipe! I love gumbo, but because I have a gluten allergy, I thought good gumbo was not in my future - I'm glad I was wrong! I can't wait to make this again - thank you!!! I really like how this recipe can be easily customized based on spice preferences. (Note: I don't have file powder, but I didn't miss it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyGoldens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great for when its cold outside! I think the boys at the firehouse licked the bottom of the pot to get all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Wow, great dish. Okra used to be the only veg I didn't like. Now I really like it. I think the trick is to cook it long enough to loose the slimeness. My step son's favorite dish is Gumbo so I followed the recipe exactly,--almost(added a tsp of cumin, paprika, and a bay leave. He said it was great and asked me to please keep this recipe. Thank you very much for sharing your delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Fantastic, like it better without the flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I picked this recipe for gumbo because it was "rouxless". We're trying to go as low carb as possible and it appealed to me that I didn't need to add flour. I used chicken breasts because I didn't have a whole chicken on hand, but prepared and shredded them as directed in the recipe. Since we skipped the rice (to serve over) I let it simmer/reduce for a little longer than directed to thicken. It got four out of four thumbs up, picky eaters included. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe! Just a post-script (2 years later): This is still a 5-star, often used recipe in my house. I have since adapted this recipe for the crockpot by tossing in everything but the okra and file powder (and shrimp, if using) at once. I usually use frozen chicken breasts if preparing this way. Cook on high 6ish hours or low 10ish hours (you'll know it's about done when it starts to smell soooooo good), then shred the chicken and return to crockpot. Add okra during the last 30 - 60 mins, and shrimp at the end, maybe 15ish mins... keep your eye on the shrimp. Add file before serving. I've also swapped out the andouille sausage in a pinch for whatever I had on hand and it's great every time. We really LOVE this recipe, thanks again for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Love this recipe! Tried to lower fat further by using chicken breast and chicken-apple sausages, which are somewhat healthier than andouille. Next time I'll omit the butter (tho I love butter)& use cooking spray. Also used brown rice. Makes a big pot of gumbo. Very satisfying and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stirring up Trouble
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this for the New Orleans Super Bowl. I thought it was good, although family members missed the the thickening the roux provides along with that nutty flavor. I'm giving it 4 stars for including file powder an absolute must for the dish and I've seen so many recipes without it. This is a good soup,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was delicious but I made a few changes from what I learned through my mother. First, I used chicken thighs instead of the whole chi ken, then I seasoned the chicken and coated it with flower and browned it in the pot I was going to make my gumbo in before adding water. This adds a little more flavor and color to the gumbo. But besides those few changes it was great. I'd make this again in a heartbeat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Thank you!! No more gumbo mixed in a box for me. I skipped the chicken and used only chicken broth. The only thing I added for more flavor is crawfish boil seasoning (I bought the Louisiana Crawfish and Crab Boil). OMG makes a big difference! Then added some cornstarch to thicken the soup. Few dash of Louisiana hot sauce...my mouth was in heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States