Rouxless Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I picked this recipe for gumbo because it was "rouxless". We're trying to go as low carb as possible and it appealed to me that I didn't need to add flour. I used chicken breasts because I didn't have a whole chicken on hand, but prepared and shredded them as directed in the recipe. Since we skipped the rice (to serve over) I let it simmer/reduce for a little longer than directed to thicken. It got four out of four thumbs up, picky eaters included. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe! Just a post-script (2 years later): This is still a 5-star, often used recipe in my house. I have since adapted this recipe for the crockpot by tossing in everything but the okra and file powder (and shrimp, if using) at once. I usually use frozen chicken breasts if preparing this way. Cook on high 6ish hours or low 10ish hours (you'll know it's about done when it starts to smell soooooo good), then shred the chicken and return to crockpot. Add okra during the last 30 - 60 mins, and shrimp at the end, maybe 15ish mins... keep your eye on the shrimp. Add file before serving. I've also swapped out the andouille sausage in a pinch for whatever I had on hand and it's great every time. We really LOVE this recipe, thanks again for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this for the New Orleans Super Bowl. I thought it was good, although family members missed the the thickening the roux provides along with that nutty flavor. I'm giving it 4 stars for including file powder an absolute must for the dish and I've seen so many recipes without it. This is a good soup,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Wow, great dish. Okra used to be the only veg I didn't like. Now I really like it. I think the trick is to cook it long enough to loose the slimeness. My step son's favorite dish is Gumbo so I followed the recipe exactly,--almost(added a tsp of cumin, paprika, and a bay leave. He said it was great and asked me to please keep this recipe. Thank you very much for sharing your delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Thank you for posting this recipe! I love gumbo, but because I have a gluten allergy, I thought good gumbo was not in my future - I'm glad I was wrong! I can't wait to make this again - thank you!!! I really like how this recipe can be easily customized based on spice preferences. (Note: I don't have file powder, but I didn't miss it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyGoldens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Hunter, thank you so much for this easy delicious recipe. My husband made this gumbo and it was superb! He is a decent ‘follow the directions’ sort of cook and he did with this recipe, even making a quick trip to the grocery store to pick up a couple of things. He followed the recipe and the outcome is well worth bragging about. It made a big potful and unless our grandson (the bottomless stomach)shows up in the next day or so, I am going to freeze some of it for another delicious meal. I could rave on a bit more, but I hope it is enough to say thank you again and please submit some more lovely meals like this one for us to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was delicious but I made a few changes from what I learned through my mother. First, I used chicken thighs instead of the whole chi ken, then I seasoned the chicken and coated it with flower and browned it in the pot I was going to make my gumbo in before adding water. This adds a little more flavor and color to the gumbo. But besides those few changes it was great. I'd make this again in a heartbeat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Thank you!! No more gumbo mixed in a box for me. I skipped the chicken and used only chicken broth. The only thing I added for more flavor is crawfish boil seasoning (I bought the Louisiana Crawfish and Crab Boil). OMG makes a big difference! Then added some cornstarch to thicken the soup. Few dash of Louisiana hot sauce...my mouth was in heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Love this recipe! Tried to lower fat further by using chicken breast and chicken-apple sausages, which are somewhat healthier than andouille. Next time I'll omit the butter (tho I love butter)& use cooking spray. Also used brown rice. Makes a big pot of gumbo. Very satisfying and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great for when its cold outside! I think the boys at the firehouse licked the bottom of the pot to get all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I halved this recipe: I boiled 5 chicken legs, and added 2 tsp of chicken broth seasoning to the pot. I boiled them for about an hour, then pulled all the skin & fat off. I wasn't sure exactly how much broth to reserve, so I saved 2 cups and ended up using 1 1/2 cups. I omitted the green pepper (it's a migraine trigger) and replaced it with more celery. Instead of using the cans of diced tomatoes & chilies, I used fresh - 2 small jalapenos and 2 tomatoes. I used about 1/2 tbsp of Cajun seasoning and added 1/2 tsp each of crushed thyme and oregano. I used a lot more shrimp because we love it! In the end though, the okra was still slimy, and it ruined the dish. If I make this again (or anything with okra), I will saute the okra first (by itself) until it is no longer slimy, or rub the sliced okra with vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States