Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Wow, this was delicious. We used the "healthy request" cream of mushroom soup and you couldn't even tell the difference! We also added 1/2 teaspoon each of black pepper and garlic, cooked in the crock pot on low for 8 hours-ish. It was SO easy and warm and tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Tasty and easy recipe! I followed the recipe except added some crushed garlic to the soup mixture. I cooked it in a large-ish roasting pan which, because of the size made a thin layer of soup, it cooked the liquid off so the gravy was super thick. I may actually add more water next time for a thinner gravy. Only 4 stars because it was a little salty for me (and I generally love salty stuff), and the meat was a little dry and overcooked after 1.5 hours. My meat said 'tenderized' on the package so perhaps that's why. Next time I'll cook 1 hour or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe is so good and so easy. The only thing I can say is that I used the onion soup mix because I didn't have the canned soup and I also added a little salt to the steak. Don't add salt, the soup provided enough salt, it was too salty. Otherwise, great, tender steak. Ate it over rice. Will definantely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Great use for round steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Only complaint I heard was there wasn't enough so next time I'll double the recipe. (There were 4 men and 2 ladies and everyone would've liked more.) Served with mashed potatoes, fresh green beans and rolls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
best round steak we ever had,did in oven only cook 1hour, so tender,best gravy,i only change one thing , because i didn't have any, was the onion soup & forgot to add the water, i used basil garlic oxo cube. and it was still good.will use this recipe again and again thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
this was good but it took a really long time so could only give it four stars. I need meals to be quicker than that but I will put this on a weekend menu for when I have more time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
needs a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I am not a "recipe rater", but this recipe was so good, I couldn't NOT rate it. I followed the recipe AS IS with only one addition, as suggested by another reviewer. I added 3T of flour dissolved in about 1/3 cup water 45 minutes to an hour before serving and the whole thing came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This was an excellent 'stick to your ribs' kind of meal. I used a packet of Golden Onion dry mix instead of the canned onion soup & it worked fine. Just upped the water to two cans. I mixed 2 TBS of cornstarch with some cold water until smooth & stirred it into the crock pot (I cooked it on low all day) during the last hour or so & it made a perfect gravy - very flavorful. Meat was fork tender after a day in the crock pot & everyone, even the picky 5 y/o, liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States