Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made this in the crockpot rather than the oven and it turned out great. Very tasty, very tender. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
this was great!! I followed the recipe rather closely, gave it 2 1/2 hours at 325, and it was just fine. Not filet, not NY stip, but just excellent home-cooked round steak and gravy. I added about 4 oz of sliced canned mushrooms for the luxury, and served it over mashed potatoes with butter, rosemary and a sprinkle of lemon pepper. For an economical, delicious family supper at home, it's ready!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
made this at my in-laws house who unfortuantly know nothing about cooking or proper food storage. I didnt have a can of french onion soup but i did have a packet of a ju, added 3 tbls spoons of butter and 2 cups of water and heated didnt have fresh onion but found some onion powder I used 6 tbs which should equal about 3 cups of onion (a ju packet called for 3 medium onions so I just guessed) used 1 14.5 oz can of cream of mushroom (my in-laws like giant cans of things) other wise I followed the recipe exactly. I will defiently try it the real way next time. I did find it helpful that you can make a quick french onion soup with just a ju, butter, and onion in case of cooking emergency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is the BEST and easiest recipe I've found for round steak. My family loved it. I didn't sear the meat and I used dry onion soup mix too but didn't add more water. The gravy wasn't too thick and it didn't dry out. I used a small glass baking dish so the meat was covered during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My family loves this recipes. My picky teenage daughter gets totally excited when she comes home from school and smells this cooking in the crockpot. I however, use an cream of soup that I have on hand - 2 cans different kinds; any Lipton soup mix, and 1/4 can of water only. Everytime there is a slight different taste, but always good. I have used cream of onion, cerlery, mushroom, garlic mushroom, lipton beefy mushroom, onion - all turns out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Norton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. The gravy was delicious and the meat was tender. I started out with a 2 1/2 pound round steak that was about an inch thick. I cut it into about five pieces. I brazed the meat with a light spray of olive oil from my Mysto oil sprayer (great device) in a non stick oven roaster. I like others used dry onion soup mix instead of the canned onion soup and the low fat cream of mushroom soup. I put in a total of 2 1/2 cans from the mushroom soup of water. It looked a bit watery, but the sauce came out perfect. Where I changed the recipe is:at about 1/2 hour into cooking, I added three peeled and cut up potatoes, and a couple of handfulls of baby carrots. I also added some dry shitake mushrooms I had. The meat came out super tender, and the potatoes and carrots were perfectly done. The gravy was just great, nice and thick and well seasoned. Next time I might salt and pepper the meat before searing, and I might add some garlic. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Using what was on hand, I combined the small can of French onion soup with a large can of cream of mushroom, plus a big dash of garlic powder for my family's taste. I cooked it on high for 2 hours and then low for another 3. The meat was perfect. I made a gravy out of what was left and its flavor was fantastic. This was a big hit and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe is excellent and easy to prepare. I made it in the crockpot. I cooked it on low for seven hours. Used the advise of previous reviews: used additional seasonings, and substituted beef broth for the water. The meat fell apart when touched with a fork which is hard to imagine with round steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was a great recipe. I did have to alter simply becauseI didn't have all the ingredients. I used beef boullion, a cut up onion the cream of mushroom soup and it turned out tender and delicious. I did sneak a couple tablespoons of sour cream in too. My picky sons loved it! I made egg noodles for it to go over but I would also make it with mashed potatoes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Not great... not horrible... just ok. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States