Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Definitely a keeper! I used a thick cut, so cut in large cubes and increased oven time. I seasoned it, sprinkled a little flour, then seared it in a little oil in a pan. I ended up cooking for about 4 hours in a covered baker - very tender. Gravy was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this in the crockpot as others have suggested. i ommitted the can of water, since my meat was very thin. cooked on low for about 7 hours. the meat was incredibly tender, and the gravy was incredible. i wanted to serve this over mashed potatoes, but served over no-yolk egg noodles instead. my picky boyfriend has already asked when i was going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This recipe was so easy and now one of the family favs at my house. I didn't have some of the ingredients, so I basically used thin cut steak, seasoned it with garlic salt and pepper. I then lightly coated the steak in flour, to thicken the gravy. Browned the meat and flour and added the 1 can of sod. red. french onion soup-progresso. So delish! U must try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Our steak turned out very dry but the gravy was great. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susandelgado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
It was delicious and so easy! I used 1/2 packet of generic onion soup mix because that was what I have, 2 cups water. Saute some mushrooms and quartered up some onions and dump it into a pot to cook/simmer for 2.5 hours. Will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ch1215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very good, based on other reviews I made the following changes -- I sprinkled each steak with garlic powder and fresh ground pepper, cut the steak into cubes and browned it in a frying pan -- added the cream of mushroom soup, lipton french onion soup mix and beef broth to that and added a mushroom medley to the pan and poured it all into a covered casserole dish and baked as directed. The only thing I would do differently next time is to add some onions to the steak as it browned and add those to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Apparently this was very good! My family loved it so much that they didn't save any for me!!! I will definately make it again....only I will put a plate aside for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made this in the crockpot rather than the oven and it turned out great. Very tasty, very tender. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
this was great!! I followed the recipe rather closely, gave it 2 1/2 hours at 325, and it was just fine. Not filet, not NY stip, but just excellent home-cooked round steak and gravy. I added about 4 oz of sliced canned mushrooms for the luxury, and served it over mashed potatoes with butter, rosemary and a sprinkle of lemon pepper. For an economical, delicious family supper at home, it's ready!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
made this at my in-laws house who unfortuantly know nothing about cooking or proper food storage. I didnt have a can of french onion soup but i did have a packet of a ju, added 3 tbls spoons of butter and 2 cups of water and heated didnt have fresh onion but found some onion powder I used 6 tbs which should equal about 3 cups of onion (a ju packet called for 3 medium onions so I just guessed) used 1 14.5 oz can of cream of mushroom (my in-laws like giant cans of things) other wise I followed the recipe exactly. I will defiently try it the real way next time. I did find it helpful that you can make a quick french onion soup with just a ju, butter, and onion in case of cooking emergency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States