Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made it and wasn't that impressed. Not bad not that great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My guys were crazy about this. I served it with egg noodles. I made it in the slow cooker, but I will not do that next time. I took the meat out to thicken the gravy a bit, ended up having to transfer the gravy to another saucepan to accomplish what I wanted, and I ended up getting too many dishes dirty. Also, I will be a bit more meticulous in removing the fat. But the recipe was excellent and I am told that I must make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Wow, this was wonderful. I didn't have any french onion soup so I sliced up one medium onion and carmelized it, added some salt and then added 1.5 cups of water instead. I only cooked it for 2 hours because I ran out of time but it was so tender and flavorful. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I made this in my Nesco slow cooker and it was outstanding. My husband is very picky and he absolutely raved about it. I added a can of sliced mushrooms, and had to use cream of mushroom and cream of celery because thats all I had, still great. Ive made again following the recipe exact and it is wonderful both ways. I cooked in the roaster on low for 7 hours......cant wait to make again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
My goodness this was excellent. I also altered a bit using a pkg of the Lipton onion/mushroom soup mix, 1 can of mushroom soup and 2 cups of water. Braised the steaks quickly and added the flour at the end for thickness. The family loved it. Will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Make this in the crock-pot. Easy meal to have ready when you get home from work/church. Great served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I've made this a few times now and I'm never disappointed! This is the only way I will make round steak. It's so tender - hard to get when dealing with this cut of meat, I feel. I use the crock pot and it makes it even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I followed another reviewer's suggestion, searing the round steak pieces in a cast iron skillet & then cooking them in the crock pot for about 6-7 hours on high. I used about half a soup can of white wine to deglaze the skillet & then added that to the crock pot along with the two soups. Since I added the wine, I decreased the water to about half a soup can. The meat turned out very tender & the gravy was thick enough without adding flour (but I admit I'm not a fan of thick gravy). We had it over rice. I will probably think about ways to add a little more flavor, but as is, it is a good solid meal & perfectly edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this in the skillet. I cut the steak into small chunks and seared as directed. I then removed the steak and added the two soups and the can of water. I brought it to a boil and then returned the steak to the skillet. I simmered for about an hour and 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. In the last 20 minutes I added a tablespoon of flour dissolved in 1/2 cup water. This thickened the gravy perfectly! Great recipe! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Rick has made this dish twice...once with mashed potatoes and once with buttered egg noodles. It is hearty and delicious...gravy is outstanding! We have friends making it and their families love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States