Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I make this in the morning & then my husband puts it in the oven before I get home from the office if we're having it during the week. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The gravey this recipes makes is very good. It's a little onion strong for us but good. The meat I did find to be dry, but very tender. I think next time I'll pound flour into the meat and brown it. The flour will thicken the gravy a bit and then continue to use CAPKO recipes and simmer on top of the stove instead of the oven. I think the oven dried out the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I started with really nice round steaks, about 1/2" thick. Although the gravy turned out plentiful, easy, and good, the steaks were ruined. Dry, even with gravy. Disappointing. I notice that others cooked it much longer, in a crockpot, and maaaaybe I'll try that when I have time; but I needed it done in a couple hours and was glad to find this recipe, but it just didn't work for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Tasty AND easy! A flavorful, simple meal for those cold winter days. I did add some garlic powder before searing in a bit of oil. Put the meat in the crockpot and poured the soup (like others, I used dried french onion w/ water because it was what I had on hand). Served over mashed potatoes. How easy is that? Entire family loved it! Thanks CAPKO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I used the flip steaks and the soups and 1 cup water. I also dredged the steaks in flour before I browned them. It came out perfectly. I cooked for an hour and had to add a little water towards the last 15 minutes. The gravy was thick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Easy, I thought it needed a little more something. I added a little red wine and some garlic salt and subbed the water for broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Would have liked to see the gravy thicker and like a gravy, but it was pretty good otherwise. I sliced the meat into thin strips and put in the slow cooker. Smelled heavenly throughout the day. Served with side of rice (which is why I wanted a thicker gravy) and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Really good and so easy. Used golden mushroom soup, half can of milk, 1 package of lipton soup mix and a cup of water. Good, but a little salty, may only use 1/2 a packet of soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A little salty, but good. I dredged the tenderized round steak in a little flour, salt & pepper before searing. I used a can of mushroom soup, 1 envelope Lipton soup mix and 3 c. water (since I didn't have any french onion soup). Just the right amount of gravy. My 6 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was wonderful! My husband loved it. Said it was as tender as a roast but tasted like steak. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingbeauty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States