Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
My hubby and I thought this was pretty good. When preparing this dish, I did substitute a can of Campbell's Roasted Garlic and Mushroom Soup, for the cream of mushroom soup. I think it helped to add some flavor to the gravy. I took blondie1's advice, and before searing the steak, I seasoned both sides of the steak with McCormick's Grill Mates Montreal Steak Seasoning, and also with some garlic powder, then I proceeded to dredge both sides of the steak in flour. The flour also helped to thicken up the gravy a bit, so ne need to thicken the gravy before serving. (To also thicken up the gravy a bit, I think you could just add half a soup can of water.) The directions didn't specify to bake this covered or uncovered. I baked ours (covered), and exactly for 2-1/2 hours in the oven. Someday I would like to cook this in a crock-pot. I bet that would taste good cooked that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
EZ! Great comfort food. Iadded fresh garlic and some steak sauce, as well as onions. LiliJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Everyone loved it! I used what I had on hand to make this recipe with a few changes. I used round steak, a larger can on mushroom soup, beefy onion soup mix, and a can of beef broth. I placed all of the ingredients in the slow cooker for 6 hours. I made egg noodles and peas to go along with this. This will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
So simple and yummy! No crockpot. I S & P'd the meat, dredged in flour and browned. I then added 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, 2 garlic cloves minced, one chopped onion and of course, some red wine! I let it simmer on very low in the same pan for about 2.5 hours (until the meat broke down and became a part of the gravy. I did end up adding more salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder to taste and threw in a pinch of cayenne. Boiled some rice and voila! The entire meal cost $6-$7 at the most and there is plenty. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Delicious. Made in crock pot . Used beef broth instead of water and soups. Meat was falling apart. Kids loved it. Low for 6 hrs. Makes its own gravy, but I did add some flour last hour to thicken up. Made with mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I'm not one to use condensed soup to cook with, but I had a round roast in the freezer and wanted something easy so I gave it a try. I sliced the round roast into thin pieces and made it in the crock pot with a dry onion soup mix, a can of cream of mushroom soup and a can of water. It was so easy and turned out really good! Made lots of gravy. You almost have to make mashed potatoes to go with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I make this a lot and enjoy it. However, I do prefer a couple of changes- I use Golden Mushroom soup, and I add sliced onions and mushrooms on the top of the steak before adding the soup and water. I like this flavor better. But this is a good, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
have cooked this 2x now. Cut off all obvious fat before cooking. Did not cook in oil, just put in raw. Didn't have the right kinds of soup so I used 2 cream of chicken, added 2 beef flavor packs, poured some dried onions in, heaping Teaspoon of minced garlic, and no water. Used my slow cooker and WOW! Awesome and had tons of great gravy that I didn't have to make or drain fat or anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was sooo good my 3 boys loved this. I changed it up abit an used 2 each of cream of mushroom soup with garlic and condensed French onion. I seasoned the round steak with monterey steak seasoning and garlic powder dipped the meat in flour and browned the meat in olive oil. There was a lot of gravy that I served over mashed potatoes. Excellent recipe. Thanks Annie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This steak turns out very tasty and the preparation is easy. I made it with thin round steaks and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States