Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was very simple to make and very tasty and flavorful. I did follow others suggestion and used 1 package of the dry onion soup mix instead of the can that was called for. After dipping the round steak in flour and browning it in a dutch oven, I mixed the can of cream of mushroom soup the dry onion soup mix and two cans of water and poured it over the round steak. I added 1 beef bullion cube and baked at 350 degrees for two hours. The round steak was tender and I had to add nothing to the gravy. It was the perfect consistency. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
this was a very easy recipe to follow and everything turned out just the way it was supposed to. this is the only time i have made round steak and it was tender.. makes its own gravy that had an amazing flavor.. my husband and i loved it. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreezyGonzalez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was delish!! I slightly altered recipe as others suggested and used a pkg of Lipton onion soup mix (instead of can French onion) as I keep that on hand. Also used 1 can beef broth instead of water, and put in crock pot for 2 hrs on high and 4 hrs on low. Meat was tender!!! Did not need to add flour or cornstarch because gravy was a good consistency as is. Also added a few dashes of black and red pepper, garlic powder, and Creole seasoning, so would not be bland. Served with rice and stemmed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Very easy and tasty recipe. I used onion soup mix instead of the canned. Also added 10 oz. can of mushrooms.Did have to add some cornstarch to thicken gravy. Served with brown rice. Very hearty dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Thicken gravy in saucepan with cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Excellent, fast AND easy!! Doesn't take much effort to make this taste like fine restaurant cuisne!! Good call on using dry French Onion soup mix--worked out well w/out the additional cup of water (didn't need to add any flour). Go easy on adding salt; you really don't need to. And try adding a can of your favorite canned mushrooms to the gravy mix. You, family and guests are going to LOVE this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
The flavor of this dish was exceptional, but mine came out a little dry and tough, and I cooked it only 1.5 hours (would have been leather if I had cooked it any longer). I think I'll try it in the crock pot next time, as many others did. My grocery store was out of French onion soup, so I substituted one envelope of onion soup mix plus one can of water - the gravy was just wonderful!! I served this with homemade mashed potatoes and glazed carrots. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
YES!! Finally a good recipe for round steak. LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was great and very easy to make. I added some cornstarch to make the gravy thicker and served it over mashed potatoes. Really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe is very easy and the meal is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly with the exceptions that I sauted onions, bell peppers, and garlic and added it to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States