Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
yum!! i cooked this in a deep old time cast iron skillet. i seared it without oil on both sides with garlic, pepper, and seasoned salt, then added the soups, water, then added chopped onion, scallions, and threw in some sliced portobellas. baked it at 375 for 1.5 hrs with cast iron lid on and wow! great dish! it reminded me kinda of beef tips without all the flour and cornstarch and that other carb stuff! great dish! i will make again! oh, but i do suggest trimming all the fat as suggested by recipe. i made mistake of biting into a piece with some fat on it and it was not pleasant at all! lol! great dish otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Really good and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by billp98201

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
very good and tender. I used half a bag of lipton onion soup mix and stirred together with a can of mushroom soup and 2 1/2 cups water. Cut up the meat and pour over. I used the crockpot and put on high for 7hrs. of total cooking time. Checked at 6hrs. and noticed the gravy a bit runny. Mixed 3T. flour with ice water and mixed in- it thickened right up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Totally, yummmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Great recipe to make an inexpensive cut of meat taste great. I used a packet of onion gravy instead of the onion soup. It made the gravy nice and thick, but was a little salty. The meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I added some pepper and garlic powder to the soup mix and cooked it in a covered skillet for about an hour as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very good! I have had this in my Recipe box for over a year and thought I should rate it..I, like others, just throw the ingredients in a crockpot and let it cook all day...yummy. I usually throw some mushrooms in the bottom as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MacChick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
The gravy came out great, but the meat was a little tough. I would definetley make the gravy again, not so on the round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I was wondering how you can cook a piece of round steak. I used the crock pot suggestion and it worked out great. I have done this before with a chuck roast with the same great results. I did not use the french onion soup since I didn't have any, but will put it on my shopping list. I think that it will have a nicer, more subtle onion flavor than the dry soup mix I used. Because I used the dry soup mix, I did add 3/4 can water. I always dredge my meat in flour and brown it before putting it in the crock pot. Otherwise, I find it kind of boils the meat and it can be more rubbery than tender-juicy-fall-apart meat. I would suggest adding some garlic for those who like it, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Mmmm. Made as directed except used more meat than called for. Will probably add a little more water next time as we love our gravy!! Very tender and good way to fix an ordinarily mediocre cut of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States