Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Sliced beef in thin slices and Browned beef in Dutch oven. Added Golden mushroom soup, dried onion soup mix, 1 cup cooking sherry and 1 cup water . Cooked for two hours on low. Tender and delicious. Served over mashed potatoes...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe is great. I have an iron kettle so prepared the entire recipe as follows: I seasoned each piece of steak with salt and pepper, lightly dusted with flour and browned in a small amount of olive oil with 1 clove of minced garlic. I put a layer of sliced onions on top of the meat. I mixed a can of Campbell's Cream of Celery soup (that's what I had on hand) and a can of Campbell's French Onion Soup and a full can of water (rinsed the cans with this water) and poured over the browned meat. Put the lid on and baked in a 325 degree oven for 2 1/2 hours as instructed. This came out tender, delicious and supplied plenty of just-thick-enough gravy for our mashed potatoes. I think searing the meat locks in the juices of the meat and that's the way my mother taught me to do with any roast, steak etc. I do not understand how any of the steak could be dry or tough if the liquid completely covers the meat during the cooking process. I was also taught to cover any meat (with foil or a lid) while it's cooking. However, those inexperienced cooks may not be aware of these helpful hints so it's always a good idea to read the comments when preparing a new recipe. I don't think there'd be any problem putting this in a crockpot. Little preparation time is needed and the results are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It should be covered with foil when you put it in the oven. That is why some people had it dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Lua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Turned out delicious! Be sure to put the cover on the roasting pan. Gravy thickened right up without anything extra from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
What a terrific flavor this has!!! This is almost dead on the same way my Mom &I used to make "Swiss Steak" although most folks make that with a tomato base. I use a thin cut of " round", but I have the butcher run it through the tenderizer. If he can't, I tenderize it myself. Then, I flour & spice it, before I sear it. The flour helps to thicken the gravy, & searing it brings out the " cooked meat " flavor. Deglaze the pan, & pour that in too. Then, I add the soup & water, & one package of Lipton (Registered Trademark) onion soup & continue with Capco's directions. Thank you Capco for sharing this recipe. So nice to see this recipe already printed, because it was a favorite of my family, & I'm working on a "Family Favorites" cookbook, so my girls will have them in one place instead of loose in this cookbook or that. HTH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
used 10 oz. of beef bouillon broth and one whole onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vinogram
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This recipe is nice and easy, but the cook time is a little too long. Though I didn't let it bake as long as the recipe called for, the round steak hardened. Also, the soup made the gravy a bit too salty. I will make this again, but will tweak the time and gravy ingredients, and will perhaps cover with foil to hold in moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was wonderfull. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This turned out pretty good...I did the 3 cups of water like someone had done but mine was way too much water as it turned out very runny.But it was good other than that water...I will be making it again but will only use the can water like the recipe had called for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States